125cc: Iannone wins after Simon error

Andrea Iannone has won the 125cc Catalunya Grand Prix after Julian Simon threw the win away by celebrating victory a lap too soon

125cc: Iannone wins after Simon error

The two Aprilia riders exchanged the lead countless of times during the 22-lap race,
but Spaniard Simon managed to open a 0.3s gap over the Italian by the beginning of the penultimate lap.

Just as the riders were starting the final lap, Aspar's Simon began celebrating in front of his home crowd, while his crew was frantically pointing at the pit board indicating one lap was still to go, and Italian Iannone (Team I.S.P.A.) was taking advantage of the mishap.

But the two riders had been just ahead (1.7s) of a group of four other riders fighting for the last podium position. Simon was thus swallowed by that group, and took some big risks when trying to salvage at least a place in the top three.

In the end he did manage to take the lead in the championship by ending up fourth, beaten by team-mate Sergio Gadea by just 0.001s and the Jack&Jones Aprilia of Nicolas Terol who took second, 2.2s behind Iannone.

Red Bull KTM's Marc Marquez classified fifth, just two hundredths behind Simon.

Jonas Folger (I.S.P.A. Aprilia) finished sixth, ahead of Stefan Bradl (Kiefer Aprilia), Bradley Smith (Aspar Aprilia), Sandro Cortese (Ajo Derbi), and Randy Krummenacher (Degraaf Aprilia) completing the top ten.

CLASSIFIED: Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Andrea Iannone Aprilia 41m10.494s 2. Nicolas Terol Aprilia + 2.245s 3. Sergio Gadea Aprilia + 2.330s 4. Julian Simon Aprilia + 2.331s 5. Marc Marquez KTM + 2.356s 6. Jonas Folger Aprilia + 2.531s 7. Stefan Bradl Aprilia + 10.795s 8. Bradley Smith Aprilia + 10.824s 9. Sandro Cortese Derbi + 14.984s 10. R.Krummenacher Aprilia + 15.089s 11. Scott Redding Aprilia + 16.427s 12. Esteve Rabat Aprilia + 16.515s 13. Johann Zarco Aprilia + 27.455s 14. Joan Olive Derbi + 27.712s 15. Takaaki Nakagami Aprilia + 28.411s 16. Simone Corsi Aprilia + 33.697s 17. Tomoyoshi Koyama Loncin + 42.581s 18. Cameron Beaubier KTM + 48.847s 19. Alberto Moncayo Aprilia + 49.532s 20. D.Agerter Derbi + 49.772s 21. Jasper Iwema Honda +1m02.666s 22. Sturla Fagerhaug KTM +1m15.215s 23. Johnny Rosell Aprilia +1m21.568s 24. Luca Marconi Aprilia +1m37.919s 25. Jordi Dalmau Honda +1 Lap 26. Luca Vitali Aprilia +2 Laps NOT CLASSIFIED/RETIREMENTS: Rider Bike Laps Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 16 Luis Salom Honda 13 Daniel Webb Aprilia 11 Lorenzo Zanetti Aprilia 10 Pol Espargaro Derbi 5 Alexis Masbou Loncin 5 Lukas Sembera Aprilia 4 Efren Vazquez Derbi 1 FASTEST LAP: Marquez, 1m51.175s on lap 7 
125cc: Simon takes pole at Barcelona

Previous article

125cc: Simon takes pole at Barcelona

Next article

125cc: Cortese claims last-gasp 125cc pole

125cc: Cortese claims last-gasp 125cc pole
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Author Michele Lostia