Moto2: Barbera beats Pasini to Misano win

Hector Barbera has beaten Mattia Pasini for victory in an exciting battle over the final laps of the 250cc San Marino Grand Prix at Misano

The two Aprilia riders, who ran alone at the front for the second half of the 26-lap race once Marco Simoncelli crashed his Gilera out of second place on lap 13, engaged in a hard but fair fight against each other, with the Pepe World Team rider beating the Team Toth one by just four hundredths of a second.

Title contender Alvaro Bautista (Aspar) made it an Aprilia 1-2-3, by just edging over championship leader Hiroshi Aoyama's Scot Honda by a mere six thousandths of a second.

Bautista's rookie team-mate Mike di Meglio classified fifth, followed by Jules Cluzel (Matteoni Aprilia), Alex Debon (Blusens Aprilia) and Raffaele de Rosa (Scot Honda).

Simoncelli's team-mate Roberto Locatelli also ended his race with crash on lap 20 while running seventh.


Pos  Rider              Bike      Time
 1.  Hector Barbera     Aprilia   43m23.353s   
 2.  Mattia Pasini      Aprilia   +   0.040s
 3.  Alvaro Bautista    Aprilia   +   1.691s
 4.  Hiroshi Aoyama     Honda     +   1.697s
 5.  Mike Di Meglio     Aprilia   +   1.921s
 6.  Jules Cluzel       Aprilia   +   9.202s
 7.  Alex Debon         Aprilia   +  10.483s
 8.  Raffaele De Rosa   Honda     +  11.360s
 9.  Hector Faubel      Honda     +  18.953s
10.  Thomas Luthi       Aprilia   +  24.480s
11.  Karel Abraham      Aprilia   +  24.680s
12.  Shoya Tomizawa     Honda     +  51.521s
13.  Alex Baldolini     Aprilia   +  52.474s
14.  Valentin Debise    Honda     +1m11.675s
15.  Balazs Nemeth      Aprilia   +1m15.515s
16.  Axel Pons          Aprilia   +1m15.666s
17.  Vladimir Leonov    Aprilia   + 1 Lap
18.  Imre Toth          Aprilia   + 1 Lap
19.  Aitor Rodriguez    Aprilia   + 1 Lap


     Rider              Bike      On lap
     R.Wilairot         Honda       21
     R.Locatelli        Gilera      20
     Toby Markham       Aprilia     15
     Marco Simoncelli   Gilera      12
     Bastien Chesaux    Honda        3
     Lukas Pesek        Aprilia      2
     Sergio Gadea       Aprilia      0

FASTEST LAP: Aoyama, 1m39.039a on lap 23

Moto2: Aoyama claims his first pole of '09

Moto2: Barbera beats Bautista to pole