Marc Marquez dominates Moto2 race at Indianapolis

Marc Marquez reasserted his authority over the Moto2 field by cruising to his fifth victory of the year at Indianapolis

Marc Marquez dominates Moto2 race at Indianapolis

The championship leader hit the front by lap five of 26 and then calmly pulled away, his Monlau Suter crossing the line 5.9 seconds clear of title rival Pol Espargaro's Pons Kalex to extend his cushion in the standings to 39 points.

Espargaro got past Julian Simon to claim second, but the 2010 runner-up was still able to take his first podium of a very tough 2012 campaign with Avintia.

Marc VDS duo Mika Kallio and Scott Redding sandwiched Thomas Luthi in a close battle for fourth place.

Dominique Aegerter and Andrea Iannone both led for spells early on but could not sustain that pace and fell to seventh and ninth respectively, split by Simone Corsi.

Results - 26 laps: Pos Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap 1. Marc Marquez Monlau Suter 45m13.763s 2. Pol Espargaro Pons Kalex + 5.855s 3. Julian Simon Avintia Suter + 9.394s 4. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Kalex + 15.549s 5. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter + 16.138s 6. Scott Redding Marc VDS Kalex + 16.805s 7. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter + 21.359s 8. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR + 21.368s 9. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Speed Up + 25.873s 10. Claudio Corti Italtrans Kalex + 26.471s 11. Esteve Rabat Pons Kalex + 26.916s 12. Johann Zarco JIR Motobi + 27.274s 13. Nicolas Terol Aspar Suter + 31.122s 14. Anthony West QMMF Speed Up + 35.701s 15. Ricard Cardus Arguinano AJR + 35.928s 16. Bradley Smith Tech 3 + 39.240s 17. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Kalex + 42.507s 18. Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kalex + 45.629s 19. Jordi Torres Aspar Suter + 45.753s 20. Gino Rea Gresini Suter + 51.567s 21. Max Neukirchner Kiefer Kalex + 52.106s 22. Axel Pons Pons Kalex + 56.150s 23. Marcel Schrotter SAG Bimota + 1m11.069s 24. Ratthapark Wilairot Gresini Suter + 1m11.765s 25. Mike di Meglio MZ + 1m20.042s 26. Eric Granado JIR Motobi + 1m42.924s 27. Marco Colandrea SAG FTR + 1m43.184s 28. Yuki Takahashi Forward FTR + 3 laps Retirements: Roberto Rolfo Technomag-CIP Suter 20 laps Xavier Simeon Tech 3 17 laps Alex de Angelis Forward FTR 17 laps Alessandro Andreozzi Speed Master Speed Up 10 laps Elena Rosell QMMF Moriwaki 7 laps 
Pol Espargaro takes Indianapolis Moto2 pole

Previous article

Pol Espargaro takes Indianapolis Moto2 pole

Next article

Brno Moto2: Pol Espargaro continues pole streak

Brno Moto2: Pol Espargaro continues pole streak
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Drivers Alex Marquez