Viso Tops Final Day of Testing

Ernesto Viso topped the timesheets on the final day of GP2 testing at the Barcelona circuit, which hosted the last session before the start of the 2005 season

The young Venezuelan driver, who will race for the BCN Competicion team in the inaugural GP2 season, completed a quickest lap of 1:24.204 in the morning session as the whole field improved over yesterday's times.

Viso's lap was over 1.2 seconds faster than Heikki Kovalainen's time from the first day.

Kovalainen, tipped as one of the main favourites for the title, was only 11th fastest today.

The BCN team, based close to the Barcelona circuit, had a positive session, with Viso's teammate Hiroki Yoshimoto setting a surprising fourth fastest time behind Arden's Nicolas Lapierre and DPR's Olivier Pla.

Despite strong efforts late in the afternoon, American Scott Speed had to settle with the fifth quickest time for his iSport squad.

The competitiveness of the GP2 field was demonstrated once more today, with the top 13 drivers covered by less than a second.

The GP2 championship will make its debut next week at Imola.

Today's times:

Pos Driver         Team                      Time    
 1. Viso           BCN Competicion           1:24.702
 2. Lapierre       Arden International       1:24.824
 3. Pla            DPR                       1:24.868
 4. Yoshimoto      BCN Competicion           1:24.901
 5. Speed          iSport International      1:24.904
 6. Alvarez        Campos Racing             1:24.921
 7. Rosberg        ART Grand Prix            1:24.947
 8. Bruni          Coloni Motorsport         1:25.014
 9. Garcia         Racing Engineering        1:25.041
10. Lopez          DAMS                      1:25.228
11. Kovalainen     Arden International       1:25.296
12. Piquet Jr      Hitech Piquet Sports      1:25.313
13. Jani           Racing Engineering        1:25.607
14. Sharp          DPR                       1:25.719
15. Hernendez      Campos Racing             1:25.774
16. Premat         ART Grand Prix            1:25.778
17. Carroll        Super Nova Int.           1:25.778
18. Pantano        Super Nova Int.           1:25.962
19. Piccione       Durango                   1:26.083
20. Fauzy          DAMS                      1:26.338
21. Negrao         Hitech Piquet Sports      1:26.514
22. Artam          iSport International      1:26.872
23. Monfardini     Durango                   1:27.376
24. Lauda          Coloni Motorsport         1:27.609

All Timing Unofficial

Previous article Kovalainen On Top at Barcelona - Day One
Next article Piquet Looking Forward to First Race