Mikhail Aleshin continues Formula Renault 3.5 comeback with Tech 1

Former Formula Renault 3.5 champion Mikhail Aleshin has signed for Tech 1 Racing, continuing his comeback in the series for a second season

The Russian, who won the FR3.5 championship for Carlin in 2010, returned to the Renault fold last year to lead a new squad from his homeland: Team RFR.

Aleshin could only manage 13th in the standings as RFR struggled, and the team left the series at the end of the 2012 season to be replaced by AV Formula.

Despite struggling on his return, the 25-year-old believes that signing for Tech 1, which nearly won the championship last year with Jules Bianchi, and challenged Aleshin for the 2010 title with Daniel Ricciardo, will enable him to fight for a second title.

"I'm very glad to start a co-operation with Tech 1," said Aleshin. "It's no secret that the French team is one of the strongest.

"Three years ago during my championship campaign it was Tech 1 who were our strongest opposition.

"But now we're working together and have one aim in front of us: to win both the drivers' and teams' championships."

Aleshin will partner GP2 convert Nigel Melker at Tech 1 this season.

Russia now has three drivers in the FR3.5 field, with Pons having recently signed Nikolay Martsenko and Auto GP convert Sergey Sirotkin joining ISR.

Aleksander Kabanovsky is editor-in-chief of AUTOSPORT's new Russian version

Aleshin's Formula Renault 3.5 record

Debut: 2006
Races: 87
Championships: 1 (2010)
Wins: 4
Podiums: 15
Poles: 4
Fastest laps: 3
Laps led: 132
Active years: 2006 (12th), 2007 (12th), 2008 (5th), 2010 (1st), 2012 (13th), 2013

2013 Formula Renault 3.5 line-up so far:

Tech 1 Racing               Nigel Melker     Mikhail Aleshin
Arden Caterham              Pietro Fantin    Antonio Felix da Costa
Fortec Motorsports          Oliver Webb      Stoffel Vandoorne
ISR                         Sergey Sirotkin  TBA
Lotus                       TBA              TBA
Carlin                      Jazeman Jaafar   Carlos Huertas
Comtec Racing               TBA              TBA
International Draco Racing  Nico Muller      TBA
DAMS                        Kevin Magnussen  Norman Nato
P1 Motorsport               Will Stevens     Matias Laine
Pons Racing                 Zoel Amberg      Nikolay Martsenko
AV Formula                  Arthur Pic       Yann Cunha
Zeta Corse                  TBA              TBA
Previous article Stanaway 'fully recovered' from 2012 back injury
Next article Tech 1 has faith Mikhail Aleshin can deliver 'great' FR3.5 season