Silverstone GP3: Jimmy Eriksson beats Alex Lynn for first win

Jimmy Eriksson held off the charge of GP3 points leader Alex Lynn to score his maiden victory in the series at Silverstone on Saturday afternoon

Koiranen GP racer Eriksson made a lightning start from pole, and held a 1.7s lead by the end of the opening lap. Lynn (Carlin) got too much wheelspin at the start, and had to defend stoutly from a fastest starting Jann Mardenborough (Arden).

Eriksson pulled out a 2.7s lead by lap five, but Lynn came back at him in the second half of the race. With two laps to go he was just 0.3s behind, but was never close enough to make a move.

Despite the pressure from Lynn, Eriksson held on to win by 0.9s to close the gap in the championship to four points, although Lynn had the recompense of fastest lap.

ART's Marvin Kirchhofer passed the fast-starting Emil Bernstorff (Carlin) on the opening lap to grab third.

Status GP's Nick Yelloly pressured Bernstorff for the majority of the race but settled for fifth, ahead of Riccardo Agostini and Richie Stanaway.

Dino Zamparelli bounced back from a grid penalty for an incident in qualifying to grab reversed-grid pole honours from Mardenborough, who got mugged over the opening few corners of the first lap.

Results - 15 laps

Pos Driver               Team         Time/Gap
 1. Jimmy Eriksson       Koiranen     27m32.301s
 2. Alex Lynn            Carlin       +0.958s
 3. Marvin Kirchhofer    ART          +7.150s
 4. Emil Bernstorff      Carlin       +9.882s
 5. Nick Yelloly         Status       +10.937s
 6. Riccardo Agostini    Hilmer       +12.774s
 7. Richie Stanaway      Status       +14.413s
 8. Dino Zamparelli      ART          +16.895s
 9. Jann Mardenborough   Arden        +18.661s
10. Dean Stoneman        Manor        +20.132s
11. Pal Varhaug          Jenzer       +24.887s
12. Patrick Kujala       Manor        +25.530s
13. Patric Niederhauser  Arden        +28.616s
14. Matheo Tuscher       Jenzer       +29.400s
15. Alex Fontana         ART          +29.701s
16. Alfonso Celis        Status       +33.436s
17. Roman de Beer        Trident      +35.407s
18. Luis Sa Silva        Carlin       +39.583s
19. Ryan Cullen          Manor        +46.549s
20. Robert Visoiu        Arden        +47.035s
21. Adderly Fong         Jenzer       +47.550s
22. Sebastian Balthasar  Hilmer       +48.303s
23. Victor Carbone       Trident      +1m10.180s
24. Carmen Jorda         Koiranen     +1m35.243s
25. Nelson Mason         Hilmer       -2 laps


    Santiago Urrutia     Koiranen      0 laps
    Mitchell Gilbert     Trident       0 laps

Previous article GP3 Silverstone: Koiranen's Jimmy Eriksson claims first series pole
Next article Silverstone GP3: Richie Stanaway leads Status GP 1-2 in second race