Zonta Quickest in Practice 2 - Hungary

Toyota dominated second practice for the Hungarian Grand Prix when Ricardo Zonta topped the times and the Germany-based team filled three of the top five places on Friday afternoon

Zonta set a time of 1:20.409 late in the session to take the top spot with McLaren test driver Alexander Wurz second 0.110 seconds behind and Kimi Raikkonen the fastest race driver in third.

The Finn, who was cruelly denied victory at the last race in Germany by a hydraulic fault, steered clear of trouble on the opening day and ended with a time of 1:21.281.

But World Champion Michael Schumacher, who set the fifth fastest time in the morning session, saw his troubles return in the afternoon and missed all but ten minutes of the session when his Ferrari ground to a halt.

And it was double disaster for Ferrari as Rubens Barrichello crashed into the barriers in the closing stages of the session after his car appeared to lock up at the rear wheels.

Drivers had to cope with track temperatures of 49 degrees Celsius by the end of the session as crowds flocked to the Hungaroring to watch the cars in action under blue skies in temperatures of 36 degrees.

Toyota driver Jarno Trulli finished just 0.129 seconds behind Raikkonen in fourth place, just ahead of his teammate Ralf Schumacher, who completed Toyota's promising show in fifth.

Juan Pablo Montoya, who has finished on the podium in the last two races and will be the penultimate car out in qualifying on Saturday, finished sixth in the third McLaren.

Rubens Barrichello was seventh, despite his late crash, with championship leader Fernando Alonso setting the eighth fastest time for Renault, Jenson Button ninth for BAR-Honda and Christian Klien completing the top ten in his Red Bull.

Zonta and Ralf Schumacher and Minardi driver Robert Doornbos all went off at turn four just six minutes into the session then World Champion Michael Schumacher stopped at turn five without setting a time.

The German driver, who won here last year, felt his Ferrari grind to a halt less than ten minutes into the second hour and his car was craned away and taken back to the pits on a truck.

Trulli spun seconds later, ensuring all three Toyota drivers had gone off track in the session, and with 10 minutes gone Montoya led the times from Wurz as most drivers came out to set early laps.

Christijan Albers went off track at turn 11 with Alonso going off at turn five with just more than half the session gone, by which point Raikkonen had stepped up to second behind Montoya.

Wurz went off track at turn 11 and Coulthard made a mistake at turn 12 then Raikkonen moved ahead of Montoya as the three McLarens filled the top four positions with 20 minutes to go.

Fisichella stopped out on track at turn 14 with less than ten minutes of the session left to run and Villeneuve spun at turn 13 when he came too close to the back end of one of the Jordans.

Albers went off again at turn 13 then Wurz had to take to the run-off area at turn 13 when Narain Karthikeyan, in his Jordan, got in the way of his flying lap in the closing seconds of the session before Barrichello crashed.

Pos  Driver        Team                   Time                  Laps
 1.  Zonta         Toyota            (M)  1:20.409               24
 2.  Wurz          McLaren-Mercedes  (M)  1:20.519  +    0.110   35
 3.  Raikkonen     McLaren-Mercedes  (M)  1:21.281  +    0.872   18
 4.  Trulli        Toyota            (M)  1:21.410  +    1.001   26
 5.  R.Schumacher  Toyota            (M)  1:21.631  +    1.222   24
 6.  Montoya       McLaren-Mercedes  (M)  1:21.662  +    1.253   17
 7.  Barrichello   Ferrari           (B)  1:21.914  +    1.505   23
 8.  Alonso        Renault           (M)  1:22.473  +    2.064   21
 9.  Button        BAR-Honda         (M)  1:22.544  +    2.135   29
10.  Klien         Red Bull-Cosworth (M)  1:22.626  +    2.217   23
11.  Fisichella    Renault           (M)  1:22.652  +    2.243   21
12.  Heidfeld      Williams-BMW      (M)  1:22.861  +    2.452   16
13.  Coulthard     Red Bull-Cosworth (M)  1:22.886  +    2.477   24
14.  Liuzzi        Red Bull-Cosworth (M)  1:22.913  +    2.504   15
15.  Webber        Williams-BMW      (M)  1:22.935  +    2.526   18
16.  Villeneuve    Sauber-Petronas   (M)  1:23.558  +    3.149   23
17.  Sato          BAR-Honda         (M)  1:23.560  +    3.151   12
18.  Massa         Sauber-Petronas   (M)  1:23.574  +    3.165   25
19.  Doornbos      Minardi-Cosworth  (B)  1:23.670  +    3.261   23
20.  Albers        Minardi-Cosworth  (B)  1:24.093  +    3.684   21
21.  Monteiro      Jordan-Toyota     (B)  1:24.862  +    4.453   24
22.  Karthikeyan   Jordan-Toyota     (B)  1:25.184  +    4.775   25
23.  Kiesa         Jordan-Toyota     (B)  1:25.269  +    4.860   17
24.  M.Schumacher  Ferrari           (B)  No Time                 1
25.  Nissany       Minardi-Cosworth  (B)  No Time                 0

All timing unofficial
Previous article Williams: Button Not for Sale
Next article Sauber Duo Hindered by Oversteer