Marrakech Auto GP: Roda angry over mistaken penalty
Virtuosi UK driver Andrea Roda has hit out at race officials after they admitted they mistakenly handed him a drive-through penalty in Sunday afternoon's reversed-grid Auto GP race in Marrakech
Roda was involved in a collision with race leader Antonio Spavone on lap 11, for which he was given the drive-through.
Super Nova driver Spavone's car changed direction as a result of a clash of wheels, and sustained race-ending suspension damage.
"Spavone moved in the braking [zone]. I continued but they gave me the penalty," said Roda.
"I served the penalty, only for the race officials to tell me that the marshals made a mistake.
"They only saw the marshals' report, and said, 'OK, that's it.' They didn't see the video. It's not enough. Before you make a decision you must see the video.
"The alternative is to put me under investigation and decide after the race. Not like this. I lost a podium for sure, and maybe a win."
Team boss Andy Roche ruled out any change being made to the result, in which Roda took the chequered flag in seventh place.
"No, it's done," said Roche. "It seems the marshals got the numbers mixed up and the race officials didn't see the video when they made the decision."
Without the penalty, Roda had the potential to offer a challenge to race winner Luciano Bacheta in the closing laps.
Zele Racing's Bacheta overtook Roda cleanly for the lead shortly after the contentious incident.
Marrakech Auto GP: Bacheta wins chaotic reversed-grid race
Auto GP could further tweak revised 2013 car