MotoGP Portuguese Grand Prix – Start time, how to watch & more

Fabio Quartararo secured pole position for the MotoGP Portuguese Grand Prix after Francesco Bagnaia lost his provisional pole lap under yellow flags. Here’s how and when you can watch the race.

Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda Team

Bagnaia had set a new lap record on his Ducati to provisionally take pole position at Portimao, only to see his time deleted for a yellow flag infringement which landed Yamaha’s Quartararo his first pole of the 2021 MotoGP season.

The late lap time deletion for Bagnaia, triggered by last year’s Portuguese GP winner Miguel Oliveira’s crash, promoted Alex Rins to second place for Suzuki, with current championship leader Johann Zarco moving up a spot to complete the front row for Pramac.

Behind Ducati's Jack Miller in fourth and SRT Yamaha’s Franco Morbidelli, the returning Marc Marquez has secured a place on the second row for Honda. Six-time MotoGP world champion Marquez is making his comeback this weekend after a nine-month injury absence, and progressed through from Q1 in qualifying to take an impressive sixth place.

PLUS: The hurdles Marquez faces next in his Portugal MotoGP return

Aleix Espargaro led the Aprilia charge in seventh ahead of MotoGP rookie Luca Marini on the Avintia Ducati, as defending premier class world champion Joan Mir could only manage ninth having also come through Q1.

Despite his late crash, Oliveira secured 10th place on the grid for KTM but directly ahead of Bagnaia – while Maverick Vinales had his two fastest laps cancelled which dropped Yamaha's Qatar GP winner to 12th.

Miguel Oliveira, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

Miguel Oliveira, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

Photo by: Gold and Goose / Motorsport Images

When is the MotoGP Portuguese Grand Prix?

  • Date: Sunday 18th April 2021
  • Start time: 1:00pm BST, 1:00pm local time

How can I watch the Portuguese MotoGP?

In the United Kingdom, BT Sport have exclusive live broadcasting television rights. The race will be shown live on BT Sport 2, with race coverage starting at 12:30pm BST, directly after the Moto3 race. BT Sport will also be showing the Moto3 and Moto2 races from Portimao.

The MotoGP Portuguese GP will take place after Moto3 but before Moto2 this weekend to avoid clashing with the Formula 1 Emilia Romagna GP.

  • TV Channel: BT Sport 2
  • Start time: 12:30pm BST

MotoGP also offers its own live online video streaming service which is available to stream in the UK.

How can I watch the Portuguese MotoGP highlights?

ITV4 has secured a deal to show the highlights of each MotoGP round in 2021, including highlights of the Moto2 and Moto3 classes, which will be broadcast on each Monday evening after the race.

  • TV Channel: ITV4
  • Start time: Monday 19th April - 8:00pm BST

Why is MotoGP racing in Portugal?

With the United States and Argentina rounds postponed due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, MotoGP organisers added a second Qatar race and a return to Portimao to fill the gap at the start of the 2021 season.

The Portuguese GP made its return to the MotoGP calendar last year for the first time since 2012, while last November’s event marked the first time the grand prix world championship had competed at the Portimao circuit.

Francesco Bagnaia, Ducati Team

Francesco Bagnaia, Ducati Team

Photo by: Gold and Goose / Motorsport Images

What's the weather forecast for the race in Portimao?

Dry and clear conditions are forecast for the Portuguese Grand Prix at the Portimao circuit on Sunday afternoon, with a very low chance of rain and a high of 21 degrees Celsius.

MotoGP Portuguese GP qualifying result

Cla Rider Bike Gap
1 France Fabio Quartararo Yamaha  
2 Spain Alex Rins Suzuki 0.089
3 France Johann Zarco Ducati 0.129
4 Australia Jack Miller Ducati 0.199
5 Italy Franco Morbidelli Yamaha 0.241
6 Spain Marc Marquez Honda 0.259
7 Spain Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 0.307
8 Italy Luca Marini Ducati 0.524
9 Spain Joan Mir Suzuki 0.536
10 Portugal Miguel Oliveira KTM 0.583
11 Italy Francesco Bagnaia Ducati 0.620
12 Spain Maverick Viñales Yamaha 0.945
13 Spain Alex Marquez Honda 0.668
14 Spain Pol Espargaro Honda 0.848
15 South Africa Brad Binder KTM 0.914
16 Italy Enea Bastianini Ducati 0.993
17 Italy Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1.081
18 Italy Danilo Petrucci KTM 1.340
19 Spain Iker Lecuona KTM 1.546
20 Italy Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 1.582
21 Japan Takaaki Nakagami Honda  


Previous article Rossi “worried” by current MotoGP form in Portugal
Next article Vinales "cannot understand" cancelled MotoGP qualifying laps