Find out more about our subscriptions

Milwaukee IndyCar: James Hinchcliffe sets pace then crashes

James Hinchcliffe, Andretti, Milwaukee IndyCar 2014

James Hinchcliffe continued to set the pace in IndyCar practice at Milwaukee, although the Andretti driver was a spectator for the end of the second session due to a crash.

Hinchcliffe had established himself at the top of the timesheets early on with a 165.667mph average (22.0569s); just a fraction faster than his session-leading time from the morning.

His time remained unbeaten once again, however the Andretti team faces a busy couple of hours repairing his car for qualifying after he lost control of the rear and slid into the wall at Turn 2.

The accident brought out the third caution of the session, although an extra five minutes of green flag time was tagged on at the end.

Few drivers managed to improve their times after the final restart, leaving Ed Carpenter second-fastest at a 164.996mph average (22.1500s) and Tony Kanaan third.

Mikhail Aleshin and Josef Newgarden completed the top five; Newgarden having rebounded after triggering the first caution of the afternoon when his Sarah Fisher Hartman car came to a stop.

The remaining stoppage, which came mid-way through the session, was for a track inspection.

Pos  Driver              Team/Engine      Time      Gap
 1.  James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Honda   22.0549s
 2.  Ed Carpenter        Carpenter/Chevy  22.1500s  +0.0951s
 3.  Tony Kanaan         Ganassi/Chevy    22.1845s  +0.1296s
 4.  Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt/Honda    22.1885s  +0.1336s
 5.  Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda     22.2762s  +0.2213s
 6.  Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Honda   22.3102s  +0.2553s
 7.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske/Chevy     22.3456s  +0.2907s
 8.  Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda       22.3509s  +0.2960s
 9.  Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy     22.4247s  +0.3698s
10.  Marco Andretti      Andretti/Honda   22.4309s  +0.3760s
11.  Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda    22.4730s  +0.4181s
12.  Jack Hawksworth     Herta/Honda      22.4792s  +0.4243s
13.  Will Power          Penske/Chevy     22.5554s  +0.5005s
14.  Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Chevy    22.5752s  +0.5203s
15.  Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda      22.5855s  +0.5306s
16.  Carlos Munoz        Andretti/Honda   22.5922s  +0.5373s
17.  Graham Rahal        Rahal/Honda      22.6656s  +0.6107s
18.  Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Chevy    22.6738s  +0.6189s
19.  Sebastien Bourdais  KV/Chevy         22.7835s  +0.7286s
20.  Sebastian Saavedra  KV/Chevy         22.8724s  +0.8175s
21.  Ryan Briscoe        Ganassi/Chevy    22.9057s  +0.8508s
22.  Carlos Huertas      Coyne/Honda      22.9366s  +0.8817s

All drivers use Dallara chassis
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Power wins and surges clear in points
Power denies Kanaan in pole battle
Hinchcliffe leads first practice