Find out more about our subscriptions

Conor Daly wins for Lotus GP in GP3 race two at Barcelona

Conor Daly wins at CatalunyaLotus GP's Conor Daly scored his maiden GP3 victory in the second race of the opening weekend of the season at Barcelona in Spain.

From third on the grid, Daly outsprinted polesitter Robert Visoiu (Jenzer) via the grass into Turn 1, as front row starter Tio Ellinas of Manor took the lead having blatantly jumped the start.

When Ellinas pitted for his drive-through penalty on lap six, Daly was able to cruise to victory 3.2 seconds clear of Visoiu. Mathias Laine finished third, as his MW Arden team-mate David Fuminelli lost his fourth position with a drive-through penalty due to setting a purple sector while yellow flags were out.

That promoted Lotus's Aaro Vainio to fourth, ahead of Patric Niederhauser (Jenzer). Antonio Felix da Costa (Carlin) barged his way past Lotus man Daniel Abt in the battle between Saturday's penalised leaders to finish sixth from 14th on the grid, before later getting a one-second penalty for contact, reversing their positions.

Ellinas finished 15th, with Fumanelli 17th. Saturday's runner-up Marlon Stockinger finished 19th for Status after a horrendously poor start caused by an electrical problem, while opening race winner Mitch Evans was only 20th after pitting to have a punctured rear tyre replaced.

MW Arden driver Evans still leads the championship by two points, however, ahead of Daly.

Results - 16 laps:

Pos  Driver                  Team          Time/Gap
 1.  Conor Daly              Lotus       27m21.043s
 2.  Robert Visoiu           Jenzer        + 3.265s
 3.  Matias Laine            MW Arden      + 4.168s
 4.  Aaro Vainio             Lotus         + 4.877s
 5.  Patric Niederhauser     Jenzer        + 5.669s
 6.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Carlin        + 8.688s
 7.  Daniel Abt              Lotus         + 9.341s
 8.  Alex Brundle            Carlin        + 9.833s
 9.  William Buller          Carlin       + 12.090s
10.  Kevin Ceccon            Ocean        + 12.401s
11.  Alice Powell            Status       + 13.664s
12.  Kotaro Sakurai          Status       + 16.703s
13.  John Wartique           Atech CRS    + 21.703s
14.  Jakub Klasterka         Jenzer       + 25.550s
15.  Tio Ellinas             Manor        + 28.133s
16.  Vicky Piria             Trident      + 31.239s
17.  David Fumanelli         MW Arden     + 31.608s
18.  Ethan Ringel            Atech CRS    + 37.862s
19.  Marlon Stockinger       Status       + 38.449s
20.  Mitch Evans             MW Arden     + 51.421s
21.  Carmen Jorda            Ocean      + 1m16.560s


     Fabiano Machado         Manor          12 laps
     Robert Cregan           Ocean           0 laps
     Tamas Pal Kiss          Atech CRS       0 laps
     Antonio Spavone         Trident         0 laps
     Dmitry Suranovich       Manor           0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Evans wins GP3 season opener
Da Costa on pole for GP3 opener
Laine leads opening GP3 practice