Find out more about our subscriptions

Mikko Hirvonen on brink of Rally of Portugal win for Citroen

Mikko Hirvonen, Citroen, Portugal 2012Mikko Hirvonen is edging closer to his first victory for Citroen with just one more loop of stages remaining in Portugal.

Hirvonen suggested that he had "never driven a rally so slowly" as he was on Sunday morning as he protected his comfortable lead, which now stands at 1m40s.

Second-placed Mads Ostberg had a scare when his Adapta Ford developed an engine problem and went onto three-cylinder 'road mode' on the long Santana de Serra stage. With Evgeny Novikov (M-Sport Ford) driving very conservatively in third, Ostberg's runner-up spot should not be in jeopardy provided the team can fix the issue at service.

As expected, Petter Solberg swiftly moved up to fourth on the day's first stage, ahead of Nasser Al-Attiyah's Qatar Citroen. The former Dakar winner remains on course for his best ever World Rally Championship result, as does sixth-placed Martin Prokop (Czech National Ford), who leads Dennis Kuipers' M-Sport Ford and Sebastien Ogier's Volkswagen Motorsport Skoda.

Two of the three stage wins on the loop went to Solberg's Ford team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala. Although the Finn is relying on trouble ahead to move him up from 17th, he revelled in the Ford on soft tyres and was by far the fastest man on Sunday morning.

Citroen Junior's Thierry Neuville also impressed - third-quickest time on Santana de Serra the highlight for the Belgian as he moved back into the points following his overheating issue on Friday.

Leading positions after SS19:

Pos  Driver                   Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Mikko Hirvonen           Citroen                 3h39m09.2s
 2.  Mads Ostberg             Adapta Ford              + 1m40.1s
 3.  Evgeny Novikov           M-Sport Ford             + 2m26.4s
 4.  Petter Solberg           Ford                     + 5m19.1s
 5.  Nasser Al-Attiyah        Qatar Citroen            + 7m15.9s
 6.  Martin Prokop            Czech Ford               + 7m54.1s
 7.  Dennis Kuipers           M-Sport Ford             + 8m14.5s
 8.  Sebastien Ogier          VW Skoda                 + 8m38.0s
 9.  Peter van Merksteijn Jr  van Merksteijn Citroen  + 10m05.0s
10.  Thierry Neuville         Citroen Junior          + 10m56.2s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Citroen baffled by FIA's Hirvonen call
Hirvonen's Portugal turbo also illegal
Citroen rules out Hirvonen appeal
Ostberg now wants 'real' victory
Hirvonen 'not angry' about lost win
Citroen to appeal Hirvonen ruling
Clutch, turbo key to Hirvonen case
Hirvonen excluded, Ostberg gets win
Hirvonen claims first win for Citroen
Hirvonen leads into final day
WRC tyre fears as rain looms again
Ostberg counting on more rain
Fisher wraps up Academy win
Solberg: Fourth place achievable
Hirvonen consolidates Portugal lead
Loeb's co-driver amazed by crashes
Hirvonen won't take risks to win
Hirvonen criticises stage cancellation
Portugal's final Friday stages called off
Latvala: Conditions were appalling
Ford tech chief disappointed with duo
Hirvonen leads amid Portugal carnage
Solberg crashes on SS6
Latvala definitely out of leg two
Latvala crashes out of lead
Latvala leads amid disaster for Loeb
Loeb will not rejoin for day two
Loeb crashes out early in Portugal
Solberg tops Lisbon superspecial
Teams expect rough Portugal stages
Hirvonen changes set-up direction
Latvala warns of end of night stages
Citroen sure running first will be best
Latvala surprised by Citroen strategy
Ford, Citroen split on running order
Ford dominates Portugal qualifying