Find out more about our subscriptions

Terol dominates 125cc qualifying

Nico Terol looks well placed to continue his domination of the 125cc season after securing a commanding pole position at Estoril.

The Aspar Aprilia rider has already taken two victories from two races so far this year, and was quickest in every practice session in Portugal this weekend.

Come qualifying it did not take Terol long to establish himself on provisional pole, with a final improvement on his last lap getting him to 1m46.556s - 0.7 seconds clear of the field.

In Terol's wake there was an exciting battle for the other front row positions between his Aspar team-mate Hector Faubel, Team Germany's Sandro Cortese and local favourite Miguel Oliveira.

Ultimately star rookie Oliveira lost out on second to Cortese, but held off Faubel to claim third and a maiden front-row start.

Oliveira's Alberto Moncayo took fifth, ahead of Johann Zarco, Luis Salom and Jonas Folger.

Young British rider Danny Kent had been second to Terol in the wet this morning but crashed at Turn 2 and ended up 23rd.

Countryman Taylor Mackenzie had a more violent crash at the same spot a few minutes earlier. After a few nervous moments as the pack dodged around his stranded bike, which had come to rest on the racing line, Mackenzie was able to limp away from the scene to get medical attention.

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike          Time       Gap
 1.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Aprilia      1m46.556s
 2.  Sandro Cortese       Germany Aprilia    1m47.270s  + 0.714s
 3.  Miguel Oliveira      Andalucia Aprilia  1m47.405s  + 0.849s
 4.  Hector Faubel        Aspar Aprilia      1m47.600s  + 1.044s
 5.  Alberto Moncayo      Andalucia Aprilia  1m47.750s  + 1.194s
 6.  Johann Zarco         Ajo Derbi          1m48.353s  + 1.797s
 7.  Luis Salom           RW Aprilia         1m48.498s  + 1.942s
 8.  Jonas Folger         Ajo Aprilia        1m48.557s  + 2.001s
 9.  Efren Vazquez        Ajo Derbi          1m48.594s  + 2.038s
10.  Adrian Martin        Aspar Aprilia      1m48.639s  + 2.083s
11.  Maverick Vinales     Blusens Aprilia    1m48.673s  + 2.117s
12.  Sergio Gadea         Blusens Aprilia    1m48.936s  + 2.380s
13.  Louis Rossi          Matteoni Aprilia   1m48.959s  + 2.403s
14.  Simone Grotzkyj      Phonica Aprilia    1m49.237s  + 2.681s
15.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo Derbi          1m49.607s  + 3.051s
16.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta Aprilia    1m49.638s  + 3.082s
17.  Harry Stafford       Ongetta Aprilia    1m50.090s  + 3.534s
18.  Danny Webb           Mahindra           1m50.167s  + 3.611s
19.  Niklas Ajo           TT Motion Aprilia  1m50.195s  + 3.639s
20.  Jasper Iwema         Ongetta Aprilia    1m50.197s  + 3.641s
21.  Hiroki Ono           Caretta KTM        1m50.433s  + 3.877s
22.  Luigi Morciano       Italia Aprilia     1m50.559s  + 4.003s
23.  Danny Kent           Ajo Aprilia        1m50.587s  + 4.031s
24.  Giulian Pedone       Phonica Aprilia    1m50.875s  + 4.319s
25.  Joan Perello         Matteoni Aprilia   1m51.608s  + 5.052s
26.  Taylor Mackenzie     Phonica Aprilia    1m51.803s  + 5.247s
27.  Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra           1m52.280s  + 5.724s
28.  Peter Sebestyen      Caretta KTM        1m53.508s  + 6.952s
29.  Francesco Mauriello  WTR-Ten10 Aprilia  1m53.740s  + 7.184s

Did no qualify:

     Kevin Hanus          Hanusch Honda      1m54.875s  + 8.319s
     Sarath Kumar         WTR-Ten10 Aprilia  1m55.530s  + 8.974s
     Alessandro Tonucci   Italia Aprilia
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Terol remains unbeaten in 125cc