Find out more about our subscriptions

Iannone dominates Aragon Moto2

Andrea Iannone wins at AragonAndrea Iannone crushed the opposition to record a dominant victory in the Moto2 race at Aragon.

The Fimmco Speed Up rider screamed into an immediate lead from pole position and never looked back. He displayed blistering pace to streak away from the opposition and win by six seconds.

The Italian lapped consistently below his pole position time from yesterday's qualifying session, and led by over 10 seconds at one point, before throttling back over the final two laps.

Spaniard Julian Simon rode superbly to win the battle for second place. Simone Corsi fought him early on before slipping back, while Iannone's Hungarian team-mate Gabor Talmacsi shadowed the pair in the first half of the race, before moving into third and then mounting a late but unsuccessful challenge for second.

As Simon claimed his third successive second place finish, Talmacsi celebrated his maiden Moto2 podium from the race that replaced his abortive home round on the MotoGP calendar.

Aside from the dominant Iannone, the ride of the race came from runaway championship leader Toni Elias. The ex-MotoGP race winner crashed in qualifying yesterday and wound up 12th on the grid. He survived a hit during a midfield melee that eliminated several riders at the start, before moving steadily though from 14th to fourth. Elias was closing on Talmacsi at the end but ran out of time.

JiR rider Corsi held on for fifth, ahead of impressive Frenchman Jules Cluzel, who rounded out the top six. Corsi's San Marinese team-mate Alex de Angelis ran inside the top six at one stage, but crashed out on the seventh lap of 21.

Yesterday's star of qualifying Scott Redding, who narrowly missed out on pole to Iannone, struggled in today's race. The youngest rider in the field at 17 made a bad start and fell out of the top six on the opening lap, before finishing a subdued eighth, behind Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter.

Pos  Rider                Bike            Time/Gap
 1.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Up      40m33.264s
 2.  Julian Simon         Suter           + 6.203s
 3.  Gabor Talmacsi       Speed Up        + 6.276s
 4.  Toni Elias           Moriwaki        + 7.123s
 5.  Simone Corsi         Motobi          + 9.160s
 6.  Jules Cluzel         Suter          + 12.881s
 7.  Dominique Aegerter   Suter          + 12.987s
 8.  Scott Redding        Suter          + 18.881s
 9.  Stefan Bradl         Suter          + 20.893s
10.  Thomas Luthi         Moriwaki       + 21.171s
11.  Claudio Corti        Suter          + 21.426s
12.  Yuki Takahashi       Tech 3         + 21.978s
13.  Mike di Meglio       Suter          + 22.171s
14.  Michele Pirro        Moriwaki       + 24.747s
15.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Bimota         + 30.452s
16.  Roman Ramos          Mir Racing     + 31.716s
17.  Hector Faubel        Suter          + 33.594s
18.  Karel Abraham        FTR            + 33.801s
19.  Roberto Rolfo        Suter          + 37.621s
20.  Sergio Gadea         Pons Kalex     + 39.428s
21.  Anthony West         MZ             + 43.799s
22.  Alex Debon           FTR            + 44.855s
23.  Santiago Hernandez   Moriwaki       + 45.164s
24.  Yannick Guerra       Moriwaki       + 59.926s
25.  Kazuki Watanabe      Suter        + 1m11.176s
26.  Niccolo Canepa       Bimota       + 1m11.208s
27.  Valentin Debise      ADV          + 1m11.364s
28.  Joan Olive           Promoharris  + 1m22.224s


     Axel Pons            Pons Kalex   13 laps
     Mashel Al Naimi      BQR          12 laps
     Kenny Noyes          Promoharris  12 laps
     Raffaele de Rosa     Tech 3       10 laps
     Mattia Pasini        Suter        9 laps
     Robertino Pietri     Suter        8 laps
     Alex de Angelis      Motobi       6 laps
     Kev Coghlan          FTR          1 lap
     Fonsi Nieto          Moriwaki     0 laps
     Alex Baldolini       ICP          0 laps
     Ricard Cardus        Bimota       0 laps
     Yonny Hernandez      BQR          0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Iannone pips Redding to pole