Find out more about our subscriptions

Perez storms to Spa victory

Sergio Perez on the Spa podiumMexico's Sergio Perez made up for yesterday's disappointment by taking victory in today's reverse-grid GP2 race at Spa-Francorchamps.

After starting second, the Addax driver made light work of pole man Rodolfo Gonzalez (Arden), running much quicker through Eau Rouge and passing him at Les Combes on the first lap. Perez never relinquished the lead thereafter.

The race was punctuated by three safety cars for accidents - including crashes by Christian Vietoris, Charles Pic and Jules Bianchi - and debris on the track.

Gonzalez later dropped behind Perez's team-mate Giedo van der Garde and feature race winner Alvaro Parente (Coloni).

Championship leader Pastor Maldonado retired at Les Combes on the first lap, so Perez's win keeps his mathematical chance of closing up the Venezuelan's big points lead alive.

Pos Driver                  Team                Time/Gap
 1. Sergio Perez            Addax             41m51.924s
 2. Giedo van der Garde     Addax                 +2.574
 3. Alvaro Parente          Coloni                +3.583
 4. Rodolfo Gonzalez        Arden                 +4.826
 5. Oliver Turvey           iSport                +7.060
 6. Romain Grosjean         DAMS                  +8.037
 7. Marcus Ericsson         Super Nova            +8.740
 8. Davide Valsecchi        iSport                +9.472
 9. Adrian Zaugg            Trident              +10.282
10. Luiz Razia              Rapax                +10.587
11. Max Chilton             Ocean                +11.630
12. Sam Bird                ART                  +12.171
13. Michael Herck           DPR                  +12.553
14. Fabrizio Crestani       DPR                  +13.269


    Charles Pic             Arden                11 laps
    Vlado Arabadjiev        Coloni                9 laps
    Jerome D'Ambrosio       DAMS                  8 laps
    Christian Vietoris      Racing Engineering    6 laps
    Johnny Cecotto Jr       Trident               5 laps
    Jules Bianchi           ART                   4 laps
    Luca Filippi            Super Nova            2 laps
    Fabio Leimer            Ocean                  1 lap
    Pastor Maldonado        Rapax                 0 laps

Fastest lap, Perez 1m57.014s

Read's pre-Spa feature on Sergio Perez, here.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Clos to miss Spa sprint race
Maldonado hangs on to win at Spa
Herck penalty gives D'Ambrosio pole
Herck claims pole in chaos at Spa
Maldonado tops wet practice at Spa