Find out more about our subscriptions

Perez grabs pole for Valencia feature

Sergio Perez celebrates pole in ValenciaSergio Perez has secured pole position for tomorrow's GP2 Series feature race at Valencia, although the Mexican had to pull something out at the last minute to do it.

Rapax's Pastor Maldonado had been on top for most of the session and was looking comfortable, but Perez managed to produce a 1m45.337s effort seconds before the chequered flag to bump the Venezuelan from the top spot by just 0.1s.

After a shaky start to the season, ART rookie Jules Bianchi managed an encouraging third alongside iSport's Davide Valsecchi, with Addax's Giedo van der Garde and DPR's Michael Herck set to fill the third row.

Super Nova's Marcus Ericsson will start from the rear of the grid after qualifying 19th and then having a 10-place penalty applied for colliding with Trident's Adrian Zaugg at the previous round in Istanbul.

Pos Driver              Team                 Time       Gap    Laps
 1. Sergio Perez        Addax                1m45.337s           12
 2. Pastor Maldonado    Rapax                1m45.462s  +0.125   13
 3. Jules Bianchi       ART                  1m45.658s  +0.321   12
 4. Davide Valsecchi    iSport               1m45.898s  +0.561   13
 5. Giedo van der Garde Barwa                1m45.995s  +0.658   12
 6. Michael Herck       DPR                  1m46.117s  +0.780   11
 7. Charles Pic         Arden                1m46.171s  +0.834   13
 8. Christian Vietoris  Racing Engineering   1m46.263s  +0.926   12
 9. Giacomo Ricci       DPR                  1m46.358s  +1.021   11
10. Sam Bird            ART                  1m46.362s  +1.025   13
11. Daniel Clos         Racing Engineering   1m46.478s  +1.141   13
12. Johnny Cecotto Jr   Trident              1m46.504s  +1.167   14
13. Alberto Valerio     Coloni               1m46.508s  +1.171   11
14. Luiz Razia          Rapax                1m46.518s  +1.181   14
15. Adrian Zaugg        Trident              1m46.532s  +1.195   14
16. Oliver Turvey       iSport               1m46.633s  +1.296   13
17. Josef Kral          Super Nova           1m46.709s  +1.372   15
18. Jerome D'Ambrosio   DAMS                 1m46.743s  +1.406   13
19. Marcus Ericsson     Super Nova           1m46.756s  +1.419   13
20. Ho-Pin Tung         DAMS                 1m46.780s  +1.443   13
21. Vlado Arabadjiev    Coloni               1m46.868s  +1.531   15
22. Rodolfo Gonzalez    Arden                1m46.953s  +1.616   13
23. Fabio Leimer        Ocean                1m47.011s  +1.674   12
24. Max Chilton         Ocean                1m47.054s  +1.717   14
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Arabadzhiev and Kral penalised
Maldonado wins chaotic feature race
Perez quickest in first Valencia practice