Find out more about our subscriptions

Cortese denies Espargaro 125cc pole

Sandro Cortese, Mugello 2010A thrilling duel for 125cc pole position at Mugello was decided in favour of Sandro Cortese, who grabbed the top spot in the dying seconds of qualifying from Pol Espargaro, who had crashed spectacularly a few minutes earlier.

Espargaro's Tuenti Derbi topped the times for most of the session, chipping away at his times down to a 1m58.336s before he walked away from a massive high-side at the quick Poggiosecco chicance.

Cortese, who had not figured at the head of the times until the closing moments, towed up to series leader Nicolas Terol (Aspar Aprilia) on the final two laps of the session. The slipstream he received on the start/finish straight proved crucial as his 1m58.315s pipped Espargaro by a couple of hundredths of a second.

Bradley Smith will start third on his Aspar Aprilia, ahead of team-mate Terol.

Randy Krummenacher heads the second row, ahead of Marc Marquez, Esteve Rabat and Efren Vazquez. The latter suffered a heavy crash on the final lap of the session, and required medical assistance at trackside.

Pos  Rider                  Bike       Time       Gap
 1.  Sandro Cortese         Derbi      1m58.315s
 2.  Pol Espargaro          Derbi      1m58.336s  + 0.021s
 3.  Bradley Smith          Aprilia    1m58.572s  + 0.257s
 4.  Nicolas Terol          Aprilia    1m58.586s  + 0.271s
 5.  Randy Krummenacher     Aprilia    1m58.682s  + 0.367s
 6.  Marc Marquez           Derbi      1m58.705s  + 0.390s
 7.  Esteve Rabat           Aprilia    1m59.177s  + 0.862s
 8.  Efren Vazquez          Derbi      1m59.341s  + 1.026s
 9.  Johann Zarco           Aprilia    1m59.617s  + 1.302s
10.  Tomoyoshi Koyama       Aprilia    1m59.692s  + 1.377s
11.  Jasper Iwema           Aprilia    1m59.809s  + 1.494s
12.  Luis Salom             Aprilia    2m00.052s  + 1.737s
13.  Daniel Webb            Aprilia    2m00.131s  + 1.816s
14.  Alberto Moncayo        Aprilia    2m00.559s  + 2.244s
15.  Alessandro Tonucci     Aprilia    2m00.774s  + 2.459s
16.  Luigi Morciano         Aprilia    2m00.890s  + 2.575s
17.  Alexis Masbou          Aprilia    2m01.300s  + 2.985s
18.  Marcel Schrotter       Honda      2m01.312s  + 2.997s
19.  Sturla Fagerhaug       Aprilia    2m01.351s  + 3.036s
20.  Simone Grotzki Giorgi  Aprilia    2m01.589s  + 3.274s
21.  Jakub Kornfeil         Aprilia    2m01.683s  + 3.368s
22.  Riccardo Moretti       Aprilia    2m01.797s  + 3.482s
23.  Jonas Folger           Aprilia    2m01.868s  + 3.553s
24.  Tommaso Gabrielli      Aprilia    2m01.898s  + 3.583s
25.  Lorenzo Savadori       Aprilia    2m02.243s  + 3.928s
26.  Mattia Tarozzi         Aprilia    2m02.417s  + 4.102s
27.  Muhammad Zulfahmi      Aprilia    2m02.586s  + 4.271s
28.  Armando Pontone        Aprilia    2m02.763s  + 4.448s
29.  Michael van der Mark   Lambretta  2m03.114s  + 4.799s
30.  Luca Marconi           Aprilia    2m03.245s  + 4.930s
31.  Louis Rossi            Aprilia    2m03.864s  + 5.549s
32.  Marco Ravaioli         Lambretta  2m06.126s  + 7.811s
33.  Adrian Martin          Aprilia    2m21.695s  + 23.380s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marquez claims first win at Mugello