Find out more about our subscriptions

Rain gives Harvick pole at Martinsville

Points leader Kevin Harvick will start from pole in Sunday's Sprint Cup series race at Martinsville after rain forced qualifying to be cancelled.

The Richard Childress Racing driver will share the front row of the grid with Roush Fenway's Matt Kenseth, which will be their best ever starting spots for a Cup event at NASCAR's shortest and slowest venue.

The starting grid for the sixth race of the season was determined according to the owner standings, which almost mirrors the drivers' championship.

Hendrick Motorsports' Jimmie Johnson, who has won five of the last seven races at Martinsville, will start from the inside of the second row of the grid, alongside Kenseth's team-mate Greg Biffle.

Stewart Haas's Ryan Newman had been quickest in practice ahead of Hendrick's Mark Martin, while JTG Daugherty's Marcos Ambrose had been third and fastest among the Toyotas. However they will only start 26th, 16th and 31st, given their current rank in the owner standings.

Johnny Sauter, Terry Cook and Casey Mears won't be able to take part in Sunday's race after the cancellation of qualifying gave them no opportunity to qualify for the race.

Although the weather forecast looks promising for Saturday's practice sessions, there is currently a 70 per cent chance of afternoon showers on Sunday.

Pos  Driver             Car
 1.  Kevin Harvick      Chevrolet
 2.  Matt Kenseth       Ford
 3.  Jimmie Johnson     Chevrolet
 4.  Greg Biffle        Ford
 5.  Tony Stewart       Chevrolet
 6.  Kurt Busch         Dodge
 7.  Jeff Burton        Chevrolet
 8.  Dale Earnhardt Jr  Chevrolet
 9.  Paul Menard        Ford
10.  Kyle Busch         Toyota
11.  Jeff Gordon        Chevrolet
12.  Clint Bowyer       Chevrolet
13.  Carl Edwards       Ford
14.  Brian Vickers      Toyota
15.  Jamie McMurray     Chevrolet
16.  Mark Martin        Chevrolet
17.  Joey Logano        Toyota
18.  Scott Speed        Toyota
19.  Denny Hamlin       Toyota
20.  Martin Truex Jr    Toyota
21.  A.J. Allmendinger  Ford
22.  Juan Montoya       Chevrolet
23.  Kasey Kahne        Ford
24.  David Reutimann    Toyota
25.  Elliott Sadler     Ford
26.  Ryan Newman        Chevrolet
27.  David Ragan        Ford
28.  Regan Smith        Chevrolet
29.  Bobby Labonte      Chevrolet
30.  Brad Keselowski    Dodge
31.  Marcos Ambrose     Toyota
32.  Kevin Conway       Ford
33.  Sam Hornish Jr     Dodge
34.  Travis Kvapil      Ford
35.  David Gilliland    Ford
36.  David Stremme      Ford
37.  Aric Almirola      Chevrolet
38.  Robby Gordon       Toyota
39.  Mike Bliss         Chevrolet
40.  Max Papis          Toyota
41.  Michael McDowell   Toyota
42.  Dave Blaney        Toyota
43.  Joe Nemechek       Toyota
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Hamlin snatches Martinsville win
Rain postpones Martinsville race