Find out more about our subscriptions

Rydell sets pace in practice at Puebla

Rickard RydellSEAT stepped up the pace in Saturday's first World Touring Car free practice session at Puebla, with Rickard Rydell going nearly a second quicker than the fastest time in yesterday's test session.

The Swede's benchmark is 2.7 seconds faster than last year's pole position time and SEAT filled the first four places this morning, although none of Gabriele Tarquini, Yvan Muller and Jordi Gene were able to match his pace.

Augusto Farfus was the fastest BMW in fifth place, the Brazilian took half a second off his time from yesterday but is still six tenths adrift of Rydell.

A trio of BMW's followed with Andy Priaulx, Jorg Muller and lead independent Felix Porteiro slotting in ahead of the fifth SEAT of Tiago Monteiro. Alex Zanardi completed the top 10 ahead of Tom Coronel and Sergio Hernandez.

Nicola Larini was first of the Chevrolets in 13th, two places ahead of team-mate Alain Menu, while Rob Huff's session ended abruptly after two corners of his out lap thanks to an oil leak.

Pos Driver              Car          Time         Gap
 1. Rickard Rydell      SEAT         1:38.138
 2. Gabriele Tarquini   SEAT         1:38.473  +0.335
 3. Yvan Muller         SEAT         1:38.596  +0.458
 4. Jordi Gene          SEAT         1:38.617  +0.479
 5. Augusto Farfus      BMW          1:38.793  +0.655
 6. Andy Priaulx        BMW          1:38.909  +0.771
 7. Jorg Muller         BMW          1:39.050  +0.912
 8. Felix Porteiro      BMW          1:39.278  +1.140
 9. Tiago Monteiro      SEAT         1:39.349  +1.211
10. Alex Zanardi        BMW          1:39.625  +1.487
11. Tom Coronel         SEAT         1:39.626  +1.488
12. Sergio Hernandez    BMW          1:39.703  +1.565
13. Nicola Larini       Chevrolet    1:39.962  +1.824
14. Franz Engstler      BMW          1:40.064  +1.926
15. Alain Menu          Chevrolet    1:40.191  +2.053
16. Stefano D'Aste      BMW          1:40.277  +2.139
17. Kristian Poulsen    BMW          1:41.128  +2.990
18. Marin Colak         SEAT         1:41.151  +3.013
19. George Tanev        BMW          1:41.442  +3.304
20. Jaap van Lagen      Lada         1:41.538  +3.400
21. Tom Boardman        SEAT         1:41.660  +3.522
22. Kirill Ladygin      Lada         1:41.926  +3.788
23. Viktor Shapovalov   Lada         1:42.579  +4.441
24. Robert Huff         Chevrolet    no time
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Muller completes SEAT double
Rydell wins race one in Mexico
BMW surprised by qualifying pace
Farfus leads all-BMW front row
Rydell quickest again in Mexico
Yvan Muller quickest in Puebla test