Find out more about our subscriptions

SEAT lead the way in Curitiba practice

Yvan MullerSEAT locked out the first five places in Saturday's first World Touring Car free practice session at Curitiba, ahead of this weekend's season-opening races.

Reigning world champion Yvan Muller headed a train of all five factory SEATs at the top of the timesheet in this morning's cooler conditions, and just quarter of a second covered the quintet.

Augusto Farfus was the first BMW in sixth place ahead of his teammate Jorg Muller and Sergio Hernandez.

Former works BMW driver Felix Porteiro was quickest of the independent runners in ninth, with Nicola Larini the best-placed Chevrolet in 10th.

The top 13 cars all set times within the same second, while Rob Huff and Alex Zanardi - who spun off at the end of the session - struggled to match the front running pace in 15th and 16th. Andy Priaulx completed just two laps in his BMW due a problem with a brake caliper and finished up 17th.

Pos Driver                 Team          Time         Gap
 1. Yvan Muller            SEAT          1:24.808
 2. Rickard Rydell         SEAT          1:24.835  +0.027
 3. Tiago Monteiro         SEAT          1:24.963  +0.155
 4. Jordi Gene             SEAT          1:25.037  +0.229
 5. Gabriele Tarquini      SEAT          1:25.042  +0.234
 6. Augusto Farfus         BMW           1:25.069  +0.261
 7. Jorg Muller            BMW           1:25.158  +0.350
 8. Sergio Hernandez       BMW           1:25.486  +0.678
 9. Felix Porteiro         BMW           1:25.510  +0.702
10. Nicola Larini          Chevrolet     1:25.572  +0.764
11. Alain Menu             Chevrolet     1:25.636  +0.828
12. Tom Coronel            SEAT          1:25.705  +0.897
13. Frank Engstler         BMW           1:25.765  +0.957
14. Stefano D'Aste         BMW           1:25.839  +1.031
15. Rob Huff               Chevrolet     1:25.996  +1.188
16. Alex Zanardi           BMW           1:26.012  +1.204
17. Andy Priaulx           BMW           1:26.076  +1.268
18. Marin Colak            SEAT          1:26.278  +1.470
19. Tom Boardman           SEAT          1:26.684  +1.876
20. Jaap van Lagen         Lada          1:26.936  +2.128
21. Kristian Poulsen       BMW           1:27.019  +2.211
22. George Tanev           BMW           1:27.919  +3.111
23. Kirill Ladygin         Lada          1:27.946  +3.138
24. Viktor Shapovalov      Lada          1:28.784  +3.976
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Tarquini leads SEAT's race two sweep
Monteiro, Larini penalised at Curitiba
Muller starts title defence with a win
Muller surprised by SEAT advantage
Yvan Muller claims pole in Brazil
Jorg Muller quickest in final practice
Tarquini fastest in first Curitiba session