Find out more about our subscriptions

Norisring DTM: Robert Wickens claims second series win


Robert Wickens took a perfect lights-to-flag victory in the fourth DTM race of the 2014 season, staged in mixed conditions at the Norisring.

With the first five laps of the race taking place behind the safety car due to the rain, Wickens made a perfect getaway when the race went green.

Aided by Paul di Resta spinning across the front of Jamie Green right behind him at the last corner, which held most of the field up, Wickens managed to have a 3.2-second gap after just a single racing lap.

Green did show signs of taking the race to the Canadian, quickly closing the gap to within two seconds, but he was unable to make a serious play for the lead.

By mid-race distance Wickens had managed to massage the gap back out to more than 10s, which ballooned to more than 15s after he stopped for option tyres on Lap 58, as the track dried out. From there, he cruised to a 23.9s win.

Green did end up finishing second, but it could easily have been third. The Audi driver was jumped by Christian Vietoris during the stops, only re-claiming second when Vietoris was struck with a right-front wheel problem on Lap 75.


Mattias Ekstrom was another to benefit from Vietoris' misfortune, grabbing third as the Mercedes rolled to a stop.

Edorardo Mortara finished fourth, ahead of a thrilling battle for fifth between Adrien Tambay and Pascal Wehrlein.

It was the Frenchman who ultimately claimed the position, after escaping penalty for clashing into Wehrlein while trying to go past a handful of laps from the end.

There was another frantic squabble over eighth - which became seventh when Vietoris retired - between the BMWs of Joey Hand and Marco Wittmann, and the Audis of Mike Rockenfeller and Timo Scheider.

In the end it was points leader Wittmann who came out on top, ahead of Hand. Rockenfeller and Scheider rounded out the top 10.

Gary Paffett and Paul di Resta both had disappointing races.

Di Resta struggled to recover from spinning at the start of the race and came home 15th.

Paffett, meanwhile, looked strong in the early stages of the race, but was spun late in the race by Martim Tomczyk, which left him down in 12th.

NEWS UPDATE: DTM trio hit with post-race penalties

Results - 82 laps:                                      
Pos Driver                  Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1. Robert Wickens          HWA Mercedes    1h15m21.118s
 2. Jamie Green             Rosberg Audi        +23.906s
 3. Mattias Ekstrom         Abt Audi            +25.922s
 4. Edoardo Mortara         Abt Audi            +32.875s
 5. Adrien Tambay           Abt Audi            +44.661s
 6. Pascal Wehrlein         HWA Mercedes        +44.788s
 7. Marco Wittmann          RMG BMW             +46.050s
 8. Joey Hand               RBM BMW             +47.991s
 9. Mike Rockenfeller       Phoenix Audi        +48.803s
10. Timo Scheider           Phoenix Audi          -1 lap
11. Bruno Spengler          Schnitzer BMW         -1 lap
12. Gary Paffett            HWA Mercedes          -1 lap
13. Daniel Juncadella       Mucke Mercedes        -1 lap
14. Augusto Farfus          RBM BMW               -1 lap
15. Paul di Resta           HWA Mercedes          -1 lap
16. Timo Glock              MTEK BMW             -2 laps
17. Maxime Martin           RMG BMW              -2 laps
18. Nico Muller             Rosberg Audi         -2 laps
19. Vitaly Petrov           Mucke Mercedes       -2 laps
20. Antonio Felix da Costa  MTEK BMW             -2 laps
21. Christian Vietoris      HWA Mercedes         -9 laps
22. Miguel Molina           Abt Audi            -11 laps
    Martin Tomczyk          Schnitzer BMW        58 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
DTM trio hit with post-race penalties
Wickens beats di Resta to pole
Mercedes on top at the Norisring