Find out more about our subscriptions

Red Bull Ring GP2: Williams F1 reserve Felipe Nasr wins for Carlin

Felipe Nasr wins Red Bull Ring GP2 2014

Felipe Nasr won round seven of the GP2 Series at the Red Bull Ring, the Williams Formula 1 reserve driver leading from lights to flag after a super start.

It was Nasr's second victory in the series, and it owed much to a lightning start from the second row as he bisected poleman Johnny Cecotto Jr and Jolyon Palmer away from the startline.

Despite using the hard tyre for the first stint, he pulled out a 3.7-second lead in the first six laps before easing off his pace and then making his pitstop at three-quarter distance.

He resumed in the lead, chased by ART's Stoffel Vandoorne, who employed an opposite soft/hard strategy to great effect to lift him up from sixth to second.

Raffaele Marciello was another star of the race, storming through from 10th on the opening lap after running wide at the first corner.

He stopped early and would pass both Palmer's DAMS car and Racing Engineering team-mate Stefano Coletti to claim a brilliant third during an epic recovery drive.

Behind Coletti and Palmer, Mitch Evans passed Alexander Rossi in the closing stages to finish seventh.

Series dominator Palmer now has 113 points to Nasr's 84.

Results - 40 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team                  Time/Gap
 1.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin              52m32.096s
 2.  Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                    +3.874s
 3.  Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering     +4.573s
 4.  Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering     +7.210s
 5.  Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                   +8.902s
 6.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident               +10.319s
 7.  Mitch Evans          Russian Time          +14.924s
 8.  Alexander Rossi      Caterham              +20.994s
 9.  Takuya Izawa         ART                   +28.182s
10.  Arthur Pic           Campos                +30.170s
11.  Rio Haryanto         Caterham              +31.941s
12.  Rene Binder          Arden                 +36.021s
13.  Julian Leal          Carlin                +36.210s
14.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                  +39.181s
15.  Sergio Canamasas     Trident               +47.388s
16.  Andre Negrao         Arden                 +48.070s
17.  Daniel Abt           Hilmer                +48.758s
18.  Conor Daly           Lazarus               +49.656s
19.  Tio Ellinas          MP                    +56.369s
20.  Daniel de Jong       MP                    +59.859s
21.  Simon Trummer        Rapax               +1m03.480s
22.  Artem Markelov       Russian Time        +1m09.877s
23.  Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus             +1m16.111s
24.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax                  -2 laps


     Facu Regalia         Hilmer                 28 laps
     Kimiya Sato          Campos                   1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Cecotto wins thrilling sprint race
Cecotto grabs pole in Austria
Leal sets practice pace in Austria