Find out more about our subscriptions

Hungaroring DTM: Miguel Molina sets the pace in practice for Audi

Audi driver Miguel Molina set the pace in practice for the third DTM race of the season at the Hungaroring, while Mercedes once again struggled in dry conditions.

Molina first went quickest at the halfway point in the 90-minute session with a 1m38.102s lap.

He was then displaced by Timo Glock nine minutes from the end of the session, before reclaiming top spot with a 1m37.558s effort four minutes from time.

It is the second time this season Molina has been fastest in practice, the Spaniard also setting the early pace last time out at Oschersleben.

Marco Wittmann finished the session second fastest, the Hockenheim winner bumping fellow BMW man Timo Glock back to third with a 1m37.586s two minutes before the end of the session.

Glock held on to third with a best time of 1m37.863s, more than three tenths slower that Molina's benchmark.

Rookie Nico Muller finished the session a fine fourth fastest in his Rosberg Audi, ahead of Augusto Farfus, Mike Rockenfeller and Bruno Spengler.

At the other end of the field, it was another tough outing for Mercedes.

Canadian Robert Wickens was the best of the HWA entries in 15th fastest, while the other six C-Coupes occupied the last six positions, with Oschersleben winner Christian Vietoris in last place, a full 2.124 seconds slower than Molina.

Pos  Driver                  Team/Car        Time       Gap    
 1.  Miguel Molina           Abt Audi        1m37.558s         
 2.  Marco Wittmann          RMG BMW         1m37.586s  +0.028s
 3.  Timo Glock              MTEK BMW        1m37.863s  +0.305s
 4.  Nico Muller             Rosberg Audi    1m37.962s  +0.404s
 5.  Augusto Farfus          RBM BMW         1m38.029s  +0.471s
 6.  Mike Rockenfeller       Phoenix Audi    1m38.050s  +0.492s
 7.  Bruno Spengler          Schnitzer BMW   1m38.107s  +0.549s
 8.  Jamie Green             Rosberg Audi    1m38.145s  +0.587s
 9.  Edoardo Mortara         Abt Audi        1m38.148s  +0.590s
10.  Adrien Tambay           Abt Audi        1m38.159s  +0.601s
11.  Timo Scheider           Phoenix Audi    1m38.172s  +0.614s
12.  Mattias Ekstrom         Abt Audi        1m38.192s  +0.634s
13.  Antonio Felix da Costa  MTEK BMW        1m38.316s  +0.758s
14.  Maxime Martin           RMG BMW         1m38.350s  +0.792s
15.  Robert Wickens          HWA Mercedes    1m38.637s  +1.079s
16.  Joey Hand               RBM BMW         1m38.653s  +1.095s
17.  Martin Tomczyk          Schnitzer BMW   1m38.766s  +1.208s
18.  Gary Paffett            HWA Mercedes    1m38.797s  +1.239s
19.  Pascal Wehrlein         HWA Mercedes    1m38.963s  +1.405s
20.  Paul di Resta           HWA Mercedes    1m39.177s  +1.619s
21.  Daniel Juncadella       Mucke Mercedes  1m39.332s  +1.774s
22.  Vitaly Petrov           Mucke Mercedes  1m39.359s  +1.801s
23.  Christian Vietoris      HWA Mercedes    1m39.682s  +2.124s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Wittmann takes commanding victory
Wittmann takes another DTM pole