Find out more about our subscriptions

DTM Oschersleben: Miguel Molina fastest in practice for Audi

Miguel Molina, DTM Oschersleben 2014

Miguel Molina topped free practice for the second round of the 2014 DTM season at Oschersleben.

The Abt Audi driver spent the majority of the 90-minute session near the top of the timesheet, before a 1m20.324s lap three minutes from the end secured P1.

Marco Wittmann (RMG BMW) left his run even later, the points leader appearing from nowhere in the closing moments with the second fastest time, a 1m20.661s.

Wittmann was the only non-Audi driver in the top six, with Briton Jamie Green, Mike Rockenfeller, Edoardo Mortara and Timo Scheider occupying positions three through six.

Augusto Farfus was seventh fastest for BMW, while Pascal Wehrlein (HWA) was the best of the Mercedes drivers - just as he was in the first race of the season at Hockenheim - with the eighth fastest time, albeit more than half a second in arrears of Molina.

Bruno Spengler and Christian Vietoris rounded out the top 10.

HWA Mercedes' British pair had a less than spectacular session, Gary Paffett 15th fastest, while Paul di Resta was 19th.

Pos  Driver                  Team/Car        Time       Gap
 1.  Miguel Molina           Abt Audi        1m20.324s
 2.  Marco Wittmann          RMG BMW         1m20.661s  +0.337s
 3.  Jamie Green             Rosberg Audi    1m20.744s  +0.420s
 4.  Mike Rockenfeller       Phoenix Audi    1m20.802s  +0.478s
 5.  Edoardo Mortara         Abt Audi        1m20.810s  +0.486s
 6.  Timo Scheider           Phoenix Audi    1m20.811s  +0.487s
 7.  Augusto Farfus          RBM BMW         1m20.820s  +0.496s
 8.  Pascal Wehrlein         HWA Mercedes    1m20.829s  +0.505s
 9.  Bruno Spengler          Schnitzer BMW   1m20.869s  +0.545s
10.  Christian Vietoris      HWA Mercedes    1m20.912s  +0.588s
11.  Maxime Martin           RMG BMW         1m20.968s  +0.644s
12.  Adrien Tambay           Abt Audi        1m21.031s  +0.707s
13.  Nico Muller             Rosberg Audi    1m21.146s  +0.822s
14.  Martin Tomczyk          Schnitzer BMW   1m21.172s  +0.848s
15.  Gary Paffett            HWA Mercedes    1m21.181s  +0.857s
16.  Mattias Ekstrom         Abt Audi        1m21.199s  +0.875s
17.  Antonio Felix da Costa  MTEK BMW        1m21.217s  +0.893s
18.  Robert Wickens          HWA Mercedes    1m21.280s  +0.956s
19.  Paul di Resta           HWA Mercedes    1m21.325s  +1.001s
20.  Joey Hand               RBM BMW         1m21.654s  +1.330s
21.  Vitaly Petrov           Mucke Mercedes  1m22.233s  +1.909s
22.  Daniel Juncadella       Mucke Mercedes  1m22.359s  +2.035s
23.  Timo Glock              MTEK BMW        1m22.522s  +2.198s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Molina takes dominant DTM pole