Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Hungaroring WTCC: Morbidelli becomes first non-Citroen 2014 winner

Gianni Morbidelli, Munnich Chevrolet, Hungaroring WTCC 2014

Gianni Morbidelli became the first man to win a 2014 World Touring Car Championship round in anything other than a Citroen as he took Hungaroring victory in his Munnich Chevrolet.

Reigning Superstars champion Morbidelli had to soak up intense pressure from factory Honda driver Tiago Monteiro in the reversed-grid event.

He was tapped into a slide by his fellow former Formula 1 racer Monteiro at the Turn 6 chicane on the final lap.

The incident gave the lead duo a slow and scruffy exit to the chicane, and allowed polesitter Hugo Valente to close onto Monteiro's bumper at the following corner.

No further bold manoeuvres followed in the final half a lap and the first three crossed the finish separated by just 1.2 seconds.

Watch highlights videos on the AUTOSPORT WTCC page

From the outside of the front row, Morbidelli had escaped a squeeze from Valente away from the line to lead into Turn 1, and thereafter produced a faultless performance.

The victory is Chevrolet team Munnich Motorsport's second successive win in the Hungaroring reverse-grid race, following Rob Huff's triumph in the team's SEAT Leon last year.

Tom Coronel executed a strong defensive drive to hold race one winner Yvan Muller at bay for 14 laps.

The reigning WTCC champion did briefly steal the Dutchman's fourth place at Turn 1 on the second lap, only to make a slow exit that allowed Coronel to immediately recover the position.

Championship leader Jose Maria Lopez finished just 0.170s behind Muller, having been forced to lock his tyres on a number of occasions to avoid contact with his factory Citroen team-mate.

Proteam racer Mehdi Bennani non-started race two owing to a turbo failure on his Honda Civic at the conclusion of race one.

Results - 14 laps

Pos Driver                Car                  Time/Gap
 1. Gianni Morbidelli     Munnich Chevrolet    26m15.851s
 2. Tiago Monteiro        Honda                +0.350s
 3. Hugo Valente          Campos Chevrolet     +1.206s
 4. Tom Coronel           ROAL Chevrolet       +5.104s
 5. Yvan Muller           Citroen              +5.435s
 6. Jose Maria Lopez      Citroen              +5.605s
 7. Tom Chilton           ROAL Chevrolet       +6.306s
 8. Gabriele Tarquini     Honda                +7.828s
 9. Sebastien Loeb        Citroen              +8.308s
10. Norbert Michelisz     Zengo Honda          +8.842s
11. Dusan Borkovic        Campos Chevrolet     +11.724s
12. Rob Huff              Lada                 +21.487s
13. Rene Munnich          Munnich Chevrolet    +23.210s
14. James Thompson        Lada                 +26.391s
15. Franz Engstler        Engstler BMW         +55.381s*
16. Pasquale di Sabatino  Engstler BMW         +59.926s*
17. John Filippi          Campos SEAT          +1m19.313s*
18. Yukinori Taniguchi    Nika Honda           +2 laps*

Retirements/not classified

    Mikhail Kozlovskiy    Lada                 3 laps

* TC2

Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Muller takes pole-to-flag win
Muller claims pole in Hungary
Muller leads Saturday practice
Tarquini heads Honda trio in test