Find out more about our subscriptions

Barber IndyCar: Will Power beats James Hinchcliffe to pole

Will Power edged out James Hinchcliffe to secure pole position for Sunday's IndyCar race at Barber.

The Penske driver's 1m08.3120s came with his first flying lap, although Hinchcliffe's reply was only 0.02 seconds slower.

But rather than taking another swing, the Canadian returned to the pits, and Power's time proved to be beyond the reach of any of his other rivals.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, who led both of Friday's practice sessions, will start from third after falling 0.08s short of his team-mate's time, with Josef Newgarden - who was punted out of the Long Beach race by Hunter-Reay two weeks ago - completing the second row.

Cosworth to hold further talks with potential engine partners

Scott Dixon will start from fifth alongside Helio Castroneves, who squandered his flying lap with a wobble onto the grass.

Among the upsets was Mike Conway stranding himself towards the back of the field after flat-spotting a tyre on his flying lap during the first segment.

It was also a tough afternoon for the non-Dixon Ganassis, as all three were eliminated before the final round, while KV Racing's Sebastien Bourdais was docked his two fastest laps for interference during phase two.

Another architect of his own demise was Marco Andretti, who was eliminated during the second segment.

"That one was on me," he admitted. "The team gave me the car, and I almost crashed it in Turn 12. That cost us the time we needed [to progress]."

Follow the MotoGP and IndyCar races as they happen on AUTOSPORT Race Centre Live from 17:30 UK time on Sunday April 27

Pos Driver              Team/Engine      Time        Gap     
 1. Will Power          Penske/Chevy     1m08.3120s          
 2. James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Honda   1m08.3409s  +0.0289s
 3. Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Honda   1m08.4264s  +0.1144s
 4. Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda     1m08.4702s  +0.1582s
 5. Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Chevy    1m08.5151s  +0.2031s
 6. Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy     1m08.6258s  +0.3138s
 7. Carlos Munoz        Andretti/Honda   1m08.6388s  Round 2 
 8. Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske/Chevy     1m08.6453s  Round 2 
 9. Marco Andretti      Andretti/Honda   1m08.6634s  Round 2 
10. Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda    1m08.8682s  Round 2 
11. Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt/Honda    1m09.1708s  Round 2 
12. Sebastien Bourdais  KV/Chevy         ---         Round 2*
13. Sebastian Saavedra  KV/Chevy         1m08.9674s  Group 1 
14. Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda       1m09.1451s  Group 2 
15. Carlos Huertas      Coyne/Honda      1m09.0267s  Group 1 
16. Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda      1m09.2018s  Group 2 
17. Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Chevy    1m09.1941s  Group 1 
18. Graham Rahal        Rahal/Honda      1m09.2228s  Group 2 
19. Oriol Servia        Rahal/Honda      1m09.2935s  Group 1 
20. Ryan Briscoe        Ganassi/Chevy    1m09.2722s  Group 2 
21. Mike Conway         Carpenter/Chevy  1m09.8580s  Group 1 
22. Jack Hawksworth     Herta/Honda      1m09.4201s  Group 2 
23. Tony Kanaan         Ganassi/Chevy    1m09.5829s  Group 2 

* Fastest laps removed for qualifying interference
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay wins delayed Barber race