Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

GP2 Bahrain: Jolyon Palmer takes series lead with sprint race win

Jolyon Palmer, GP2 Bahrain 2014Jolyon Palmer took the lead of the GP2 Series in Bahrain on Sunday by winning the sprint race for DAMS.

After polesitter Felipe Nasr made a terrible start, Simon Trummer leapt into the lead in his Rapax machine.

From sixth on the grid, Palmer took advantage of Stefano Coletti stalling ahead of him to jump up to second at the first corner.

A lap later, Palmer passed Trummer for the lead, and he controlled that to the finish, winning by 0.8s in a race of tyre management in 28C desert heat.

"I'm absolutely delighted," said Palmer. "We did a lot of homework last night on starts and tyre deg and we nailed them both."

Trummer held off Carlin's Julian Leal for second, which was his first podium in the series.

Nasr recovered to finish fourth, passing Adrian Quaife-Hobbs in a terrific late-race battle, during which they swapped the position three times.

Stephane Richelmi also passed Quaife-Hobbs on the final lap, but he is under investigation for a robust move on Arthur Pic earlier on.

Quaife-Hobbs finished sixth, ahead of a charging Mitch Evans and Rene Binder. Pic finished ninth.

Yesterday's debut race winner Stoffel Vandoorne was one of many to make a poor start, dropping from eighth to 11th, and as he battled his way back through he broke his front wing hitting Daniel de Jong at Turn 4.

Vandoorne had already suffered a pre-race drama when a bodywork panel on his chassis fell off on an installation lap, and he trailed home 22nd.

Pos Driver                 Team                 Time/Gap
 1. Jolyon Palmer          DAMS                 41m02.484s
 2. Simon Trummer          Rapax                +0.809s
 3. Julian Leal            Carlin               +1.430s
 4. Luiz Felipe Nasr       Carlin               +8.719s
 5. Stefano Richelmi       DAMS                 +16.416s
 6. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs    Rapax                +17.680s
 7. Mitchell Evans         Russian Time         +18.012s
 8. Rene Binder            Arden                +19.791s
09. Arthur Pic             Campos               +19.977s
10. Artem Markelov         Russian Time         +20.678s
11. Daniel de Jong         MP                   +21.086s
12. Takuya Izawa           ART                  +21.713s
13. Daniel Abt             Hilmer               +29.171s
14. Johnny Cecotto         Trident              +33.500s
15. Jon Lancaster          MP                   +34.017s
16. Rio Haryanto           Caterham             +35.778s
17. Nathanael Berthon      Lazarus              +38.028s
18. Andre Negrao           Arden                +38.524s
19. Kimiya Sato            Campos               +39.439s
20. Facu Regalia           Hilmer               +44.065s
21. Axcil Jefferies        Trident              +48.583s
22. Stoffel Vandoorne      ART                  +49.324s
23. Stefano Coletti        Racing Engineering   +1m20.944s
24. Raffaele Marciello     Racing Engineering   + 1 lap
25. Alexander Rossi        Caterham             + 1 lap


    Conor Daly             Lazarus              7 laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
McLaren's Vandoorne wins GP2 debut