Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Mercedes to field expanded seven-car attack in 2014 DTM

Mercedes DTM 2014

Mercedes will retain Robert Wickens, Christian Vietoris and Pascal Wehrlein in an expanded seven-car DTM line-up for the 2014 season.

Fellow 2013 Mercedes driver Roberto Merhi has lost his race seat but will remain on board in a test and reserve role.

Wickens, Vietoris and Wehrlein join Formula 1 refugees Paul di Resta and Vitaly Petrov plus Mercedes returnees Gary Paffett and Daniel Juncadella in the squad.

Di Resta was right to opt for the DTM

Mercedes has not yet announced how it will split its drivers. Last year HWA ran four cars, with Mucke fielding the other two in what was then a six-car team.

Vietoris was Mercedes' top scorer in a tough 2013 DTM season for the marque as he took fourth place in the standings, while Wickens claimed his maiden win last year at the Nurburgring.

Mercedes motorsport chief Toto Wolff believes this year's line-up offers a better chance of success.

"Our DTM squad for the 2014 season is a good mix of successful DTM winners such as Gary and Paul, plus aspiring DTM drivers like our Mercedes juniors," said Wolff.

"We clearly did not quite live up to our expectations last season, which is why we intend to do much better in the new season.

"With two DTM champions, two ex-Formula 1 drivers and a bevy of young, well-proven DTM drivers, we will achieve even more race wins this year and aim ultimately to have a good crack at the title."

Abt: Mattias Ekstrom, Edoardo Mortara, Miguel Molina, Adrien Tambay
Phoenix: Mike Rockenfeller, Timo Scheider
Rosberg: Jamie Green, Nico Muller
Schnitzer: Bruno Spengler, Martin Tomczyk
RBM: Augusto Farfus, Joey Hand
RMG: Maxime Martin, Marco Wittmann
MTEK: Timo Glock, Antonio Felix da Costa
Mercedes (teams tba)
Gary Paffett
Paul di Resta
Vitaly Petrov
Daniel Juncadella
Robert Wickens
Christian Vietoris
Pascal Wehrlein
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT