Find out more about our subscriptions

Shanghai WEC: Audi's McNish, Kristensen, Duval claim 2013 title

Allan McNish Tom Kristensen Loic Duval

Audi drivers Allan McNish, Tom Kristensen and Loic Duval claimed the 2013 World Endurance Championship after a conservative run to third place in Saturday's Shanghai round.

The final podium position was more than enough to give the trio an unassailable lead in the championship with one round left to run, despite victory for team-mates Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler.

McNish and his co-drivers opted to play the percentages aboard their Audi R18 e-tron quattro after qualifying only fourth on a track that appeared to favour Toyota's TS030 HYBRID.

McNish also found himself on the wrong compound tyres in the opening stint and was more than 40 seconds off the lead at the first round of pitstops.

"I feel massively proud of what we accomplished this year," said McNish. "We came out the blocks fighting in the Silverstone opening race and went on to also win at Le Mans and in Texas.

"Today we drove a conservative race but I'm out to finish the season off in style in Bahrain at the end of the month."

Lotterer, Treluyer and Fassler took the victory in dramatic style at the end of a race that looked to be going the way of the Toyota driven by Nicolas Lapierre and Alex Wurz.

Toyota led into the final hour before Wurz took over from Lapierre with 53 minutes to run, which crucially meant the car would require a splash-and-dash fuel stop before the end of the six-hour race.

Wurz moved back to the head of the field when Fassler handed over to Treluyer 15 minutes later.

The Toyota remained ahead after Wurz made his fuel-only stop with 33 minutes to go and emerged from the pits with a slender advantage over the Audi.

Treluyer edged towards the Toyota and moved past after only two laps when Wurz went off line in Turn 3 as he tried to negotiate his way through traffic.

The Audi driver, who was on the fresher tyres, was then able to pull away to a final margin of victory of 16s.

Aston Martin Darren Turner Stefan Mucke

The second Toyota, shared by Anthony Davidson, Sebastien Buemi and Stephane Sarrazin, retired from the lead in the penultimate hour when a bolt in the right- front suspension sheered.

LMP2 honours went to the G-Drive/Delta-ADR Nissan 03 shared by John Martin, Mike Conway and Roman Rusinov, which dominated the class despite a delay caused by bodywork damage sustained in the middle of the race.

Aston Martin finished one-two in the GTE Pro class, Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke (pictured above) bolstering their championship hopes with a narrow victory over Bruno Senna, Richie Stanaway and Pedro Lamy.

GTE Am honours went to the 8Star Ferrari squad of Davide Rigon, Enzo Potolicchio and Rui Aguas.

Pos  Cl     Drivers                         Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  P1     Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler       Audi                    6h01m33.343s
 2.  P1     Wurz/Lapierre                   Toyota                      +15.374s
 3.  P1     Kristensen/Duval/McNish         Audi                         +1 laps
 4.  P1     Belicchi/Beche/Prost            Rebellion Lola-Toyota        +5 laps
 5.  P2     Rusinov/Martin/Conway           Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan      +13 laps
 6.  P2     Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle  OAK Morgan-Nissan           +13 laps
 7.  P2     Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman       OAK Morgan-Nissan           +13 laps
 8.  P2     Graves/Kerr/Dolby               Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan      +14 laps
 9.  P2     Shulzhitckiy/Lux/Wirdheim       Greaves Zytek-Nissan        +15 laps
10.  P2     Nicolet/Ihara/Cheng             OAK Morgan-Nissan           +18 laps
11.  P2     Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz        Lotus                       +18 laps
12.  GTE P  Turner/Mucke                    Aston Martin                +21 laps
13.  GTE P  Lamy/Senna/Stanaway             Aston Martin                +21 laps
14.  GTE P  Bergmeister/Pilet               Manthey Porsche             +22 laps
15.  GTE P  Bruni/Fisichella                AF Ferrari                  +22 laps
16.  GTE P  Kobayashi/Vilander              AF Ferrari                  +23 laps
17.  GTE P  Lieb/Lietz                      Manthey Porsche             +23 laps
18.  GTE A  Potolicchio/Aguas/Rigon         8Star Ferrari               +24 laps
19.  GTE A  Narac/Vernay/Palttala           Imsa Porsche                +25 laps
20.  GTE A  Campbell-Walter/Hall/Adam       Aston Martin                +25 laps
21.  GTE A  Ried/Roda/Ruberti               Proton Porsche              +25 laps
22.  GTE A  Bornhauser/Canal/Rees           Larbre Corvette             +26 laps
23.  GTE A  Gerber/Griffin/Cioci            AF Ferrari                  +26 laps
24.  P1     Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin         Toyota                      +47 laps
25.  GTE A  Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani           Krohn Ferrari               +51 laps
     GTE A  Campbell-Walter/Hall/Adam       Aston Martin                100 laps
     GTE A  Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani           Krohn Ferrari               93  laps
     GTE A  Bornhauser/Canal/Rees           Larbre Corvette             56  laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Toyota takes Shanghai WEC pole