Find out more about our subscriptions

Sanremo ERC: Giandemenico Basso holds off Bryan Bouffier to win

Giandemenico Basso held off a determined Bryan Bouffier to claim his third Sanremo Rally victory.

The double European champion, who trod carefully through the first leg of stages, entered the final day in second position and then reaped the rewards when erstwhile rally leader Paulo Andreucci ran into difficulty.

Basso began the last loop of stages with a 17.4s advantage over Bouffier, which was whittled down to just seven seconds prior to the final test through Colle d'Oggia.

The Frenchman fell at the final hurdle, however, and suffered a puncture in the stage, costing him 1m46s as a consequence and dropped him down to fourth overall.

Bouffier's misfortune was Esapekka Lappi's gain, as the 22-year-old - on only his second European Rally Championship outing - rose to second by beating his nearest rival Alessandro Perico at the very end.

Perico, a former winner of his home event, held on to third for the majority of the rally despite spinning into a barrier and damaging his Peugeot's rear suspension during the final morning's loop of stages.

Stefano Albertini claimed a comfortable fifth after reporting problems with his brakes during the penultimate stage, while erstwhile rally leader Andreucci made a comeback of sorts by finishing sixth, albeit 7m50.6s off the lead.

Compatriot Umberto Scandola had an equally torrid final day.

He started it in third place and with a shout of taking the win, but the domestic championship winner lost four minutes on the opening stage of the day after suffering a puncture, before his engine overheated and curtailed his involvement in the event.

Craig Breen found his form during the last loop of stages once his steering rack issues were fixed, though suspension damage incurred on yesterday's penultimate test cost him five minutes and any chance of victory.

Leading positions after SS10:                                 
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                 Time/Gap 
 1.  Giandomenico Basso   Munaretto Peugeot      2h37m37.3s   
 2.  Esapekka Lappi       Skoda                    +1m43.0s   
 3.  Alessandro Perico    United Peugeot           +1m47.1s   
 4.  Bryan Bouffier       Delta Peugeot            +1m52.9s   
 5.  Stefano Albertini    Racing Lions Peugeot     +2m10.4s   
 6.  Paolo Andreucci      FPF Peugeot             +10m01.0s   
 7.  Federico Gasparetti  Pistoia Renault         +10m35.2s   
 8.  Alex Vittalini       Phoenix Citroen         +11m40.2s   
 9.  Michele Tassone      Tassone Renault         +11m48.8s   
10.  Vasily Gryazin       Kruzmanis Ford          +12m26.3s   
ERC retirements:                                              
     Umberto Scandola     SA Skoda                      SS7   
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Basso leads as Andreucci hits trouble
Andreucci's lead grows on night stages
Andreucci takes early Sanremo lead