Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Sanremo ERC: Basso leads as Andreucci hits trouble

Giandomenico Basso moved into the lead of the 2013 European Rally Championship's penultimate event in Sanremo as Paolo Andreucci encountered problems on the last of Saturday morning's loop of stages.

Andreucci held a 16.2s advantage overnight and extended his lead to 25.5s over Basso before running into difficulties on the Colle d'Oggia test.

The multiple Italian title-winner changed a tyre prior to commencement of the stage after spotting a slow puncture, but forgot the tyre would be cold and subsequently spun and incurred damage to the left-rear.

He lost 9m42.9s as a result and is well out of contention for the win having dropped down to 11th overall.

Andreucci's misfortune promoted Basso into the lead. He holds a 17.4s advantage over Bryan Bouffier, who won all three of this morning's stages.

The Frenchman made his way into a provisional podium position after Umberto Scandola suffered a puncture half-way through the first stage, before experiencing engine overheating issues in the second.

The recently-crowned Italian champion failed to start the third stage of the day. It is not known whether he will continue to compete in the event.

Bouffier has a comfortable 54.4s margin over third-place Alessandro Perico, who has rising Finnish rally star Esapekka Lappi and Stefano Albertini hot on his tail with just 17.9s covering the trio.

Craig Breen continues to participate after his misfortune yesterday. He had been due to run first on the road in his Peugeot 207, but problems getting it started before the first stage meant he competed out of order.

Leading positions after SS7:                                  
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                 Time/Gap 
 1.  Giandomenico Basso   Munaretto Peugeot      1h55m36.9s   
 2.  Bryan Bouffier       Delta Peugeot              +17.4s   
 3.  Alessandro Perico    United Peugeot           +1m11.8s   
 4.  Esapekka Lappi       Skoda                    +1m23.8s   
 5.  Stefano Albertini    Racing Lions Peugeot     +1m29.7s   
 6.  Vasily Gryazin       Kruzmanis Ford           +5m44.9s   
 7.  Federico Gasparetti  Pistoia Renault          +7m47.2s   
 8.  Alex Vittalini       Phoenix Citroen          +8m36.5s   
 9.  Danilo Amegilo       RFG Peugeot              +8m45.1s   
10.  Michele Tassone      Tassone Renault          +8m54.4s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Basso holds on for Sanremo win
Andreucci's lead grows on night stages
Andreucci takes early Sanremo lead