Find out more about our subscriptions

Termas WTCC: Tom Chilton edges Yvan Muller in practice two

Tom Chilton, RML Chevrolet, Termas WTCC 2013Tom Chilton denied Yvan Muller a practice sweep by edging the Frenchman in the second World Touring Car Championship session in Argentina.

Muller had been frustrated in the early stages of the session as yellow flags twice spoiled attempted flyers that had begun with an overall best in the first sector.

With five minutes to go he was still down on the fringes of the top 20, but a clean lap finally delivered a 1m49.183s that put him top.

Live motorsport updates with AUTOSPORT Race Centre Live

That lasted just moments however, as Chilton followed him across the line and dropped the benchmark to a 1m49.034s, the fastest time so far on the Termas de Rio Hondo track.

The pair's late improvements, which came too late for the field to respond, pushed long-term pacesetter Alex MacDowall down to third.

Tiago Monteiro also found time at the flag to snatch fourth from Norbert Michelisz in the Zengo-run Honda.

Jose Maria Lopez meanwhile continued his strong form to put the Wiechers BMW sixth, the last car within one second of Chilton.

Pepe Oriola, Gabriele Tarquini, James Thompson and James Nash rounded out the top 10.

SEAT team-mates Rob Huff and Rene Munnich both failed to set a competitive time.

Munnich went off early on at Turn 11, causing yellows that morphed into reds when it became clear he was beached in the gravel.

Huff then brought about the second disruption at Turn 8. The Briton had spent most of the session in the garage, with his crew frantically working on his car.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car          Time       Gap
 1.  Tom Chilton         RML Chevrolet     1m49.034s
 2.  Yvan Muller         RML Chevrolet     1m49.183s  +0.149s
 3.  Alex MacDowall      Bamboo Chevrolet  1m49.341s  +0.307s
 4.  Tiago Monteiro      Honda             1m49.586s  +0.552s
 5.  Norbert Michelisz   Zengo Honda       1m49.694s  +0.660s
 6.  Jose Maria Lopez    Wiechers BMW      1m49.947s  +0.913s
 7.  Pepe Oriola         Tuenti Chevrolet  1m50.155s  +1.121s
 8.  Gabriele Tarquini   Honda             1m50.247s  +1.213s
 9.  James Thompson      Lada              1m50.399s  +1.365s
10.  James Nash          Bamboo Chevrolet  1m50.405s  +1.371s
11.  Michel Nykjaer      Nika Chevrolet    1m50.493s  +1.459s
12.  Mikhail Kozlovskiy  Lada              1m50.636s  +1.602s
13.  Tom Coronel         ROAL BMW          1m50.675s  +1.641s
14.  Fernando Monje      Campos SEAT       1m50.813s  +1.779s
15.  Marc Basseng        Munnich SEAT      1m51.122s  +2.088s
16.  Darryl O'Young      ROAL BMW          1m51.189s  +2.155s
17.  Stefano D'Aste      PB BMW            1m51.221s  +2.187s
18.  Hugo Valente        Campos SEAT       1m51.274s  +2.240s
19.  Mehdi Bennani       Proteam BMW       1m51.613s  +2.579s
20.  Franz Engstler      Engstler BMW      1m52.071s  +3.037s
21.  Charles Ng          Engstler BMW      1m52.135s  +3.101s
22.  Rob Huff            Munnich SEAT
23.  Rene Munnich        Munnich SEAT
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Lopez wins on WTCC debut
Muller leaves wild pack behind for win
Muller claims Argentina pole
Muller dominates practice in Argentina
Muller leads first Argentina session