Find out more about our subscriptions

Le Mans Moto2: Scott Redding claims maiden Moto2 win

Scott ReddingScott Redding claimed his first Moto2 victory - and the championship lead with it - in a crash-filled, truncated race at Le Mans.

Redding, the first non-Spanish victor in any of the MotoGP classes this season, recovered from a terrible start to win a race which was cut short by red flags two laps from the finish.

He now holds a 24-point lead in the championship after Esteve Rabat and his Pons team-mate Pol Espargaro suffered identical - but separate - crashes early on.

Poleman Takaaki Nakagami led the field away as Redding plummeted to ninth with a dreadful start. Espargaro rocketed up the order from seventh and led by the end of the opening lap, before losing out to Nakagami and Rabat into Turn 1 at the start of the third.

The two Pons Kalex riders then crashed simultaneously at Museum Corner, dropping their bikes in identical fashion on the entry and sliding into the gravel. Espargaro rejoined, down in 26th, while Rabat headed for the pits.

This was the start of a chaotic couple of laps, as Dominique Aegerter appeared in second place – having started 13th - while Jordi Torres and Thomas Luthi both crashed.

Johann Zarco reclaimed second from Aegerter, who then lost out to Xavier Simeon and then Redding, as Nakagami extended his lead to three seconds.

But the Japanese rider pushed too hard at the start of the eighth lap, setting the fastest first sector of the race at that point before crashing in the same place as the Pons pair had previously.

Redding claims maiden Moto2 winFollowing Nakagami out of the race was Toni Elias, who had stormed to 10th having been forced to start from the back of the grid, as Redding made the most of the action around him to take the lead from Zarco.

Mika Kallio passed Aegerter, Simeon and Zarco – who fell back as the race progressed – to make a late bid for second. Three laps from the end he almost threw it away, a mistake dropping him behind Simeon, but the red flag meant he was reinstated to second on countback.

Aegerter finished fourth, just ahead of Zarco, with Mattia Pasini sixth after a race-long fight with Mike di Meglio. Espargaro's recovery only went as far as 20th, more than a minute behind Redding.

Results - 22 laps (red flag):

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike             Time/Gap
 1.  Scott Redding        Marc VDS Kalex      36m43.583s
 2.  Mika Kallio          Marc VDS Kalex        + 1.090s
 3.  Xavier Simeon        SAG Kalex             + 1.234s
 4.  Dominique Aegerter   Technomag Suter       + 1.701s
 5.  Johann Zarco         Ioda Suter            + 1.859s
 6.  Mattia Pasini        Forward Speed Up     + 12.272s
 7.  Mike di Meglio       JiR Motobi           + 12.378s
 8.  Julian Simon         Italtrans Kalex      + 29.712s
 9.  Anthony West         QMMF Speed Up        + 30.479s
10.  Alex de Angelis      Forward Speed Up     + 31.235s
11.  Randy Krummenacher   Technomag Suter      + 31.535s
12.  Simone Corsi         Forward Speed Up     + 31.675s
13.  Sandro Cortese       Intact Kalex         + 31.917s
14.  Marcel Schrotter     SAG Kalex            + 35.778s
15.  Louis Rossi          Tech 3               + 45.045s
16.  Danny Kent           Tech 3               + 45.151s
17.  Alberto Moncayo      Arginano Speed Up    + 55.456s
18.  Yuki Takahashi       Tady Moriwaki        + 59.886s
19.  Doni Tata Pradita    Gresini Suter      + 1m02.095s
20.  Pol Espargaro        Pons Kalex         + 1m06.414s
21.  Steven Odendaal      Arginano Speed Up  + 1m48.007s
22.  Hafizh Syahrin       Petronas Kalex         + 1 lap
23.  Esteve Rabat         Pons Kalex            + 2 laps
24.  Rafid Topan Sucipto  QMMF Speed Up         + 3 laps


     Ricard Cardus        Forward peed Up        22 laps
     Gino Rea             Gino Rea FTR           19 laps
     Toni Elias           Avintia Kalex          17 laps
     Nicolas Terol        Aspar Suter            12 laps
     Takaaki Nakagami     Italtrans Kalex         6 laps
     Thomas Luthi         Paddock Suter           4 laps
     Jordi Torres         Aspar Suter             2 laps
     Kyle Smith           Avintia Kalex           0 laps
     Axel Pons            Pons Kalex              0 laps
     Ratthapark Wilairot  Gresini Suter           0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Nakagami grabs maiden Moto2 pole