Find out more about our subscriptions

Aragon FR3.5: Nato on pole after chaotic wet qualifying

Nato on pole for race two at AragonFormula Renault 3.5 rookie Norman Nato took pole for race two at Aragon in a chaotic wet qualifying session on Sunday morning.

The Frenchman came out on top in a session blighted by red-flag stoppages, while his DAMS team-mate and championship leader Kevin Magnussen will start from the back after he suffered a fuel pressure problem.

Nato set his best time in the longest run of activity without a stoppage, initially edging Stoffel Vandoorne for pole before Magnussen's stoppage brought out the red flag.

But in the final burst of green flag activity there were more improvements behind the pole man, with Carlos Huertas, Sergey Sirotkin and Arthur Pic all getting ahead of Vandoorne.

By causing a red flag, Magnussen had his best lap deleted, but that made little difference to his fortunes as he was yet to set a representative time before going off.

The Dane's misfortune gives his closest challengers in the title fight a chance to make up some ground following his victory in race one.

While Pic and Vandoorne are in the top five, Red Bull junior Antonio Felix da Costa will start ninth.

Qualifying had been shortened from 30 to 15 minutes due to an oil consumption problem discovered after the first race, but the organisers had to add another five minutes to the session as at one stage there were only seven minutes to go and nobody had been able to set a time due to the red flags.

Pos Driver                  Team               Time      Gap       Laps
 1. Norman Nato             DAMS               2m12.303s            10
 2. Carlos Huertas          Carlin             2m12.512s  + 0.209s   9
 3. Sergey Sirotkin         ISR                2m12.611s  + 0.308s   8
 4. Arthur Pic              AV Formula         2m12.896s  + 0.593s  10
 5. Stoffel Vandoorne       Fortec             2m13.026s  + 0.723s  10
 6. Will Stevens            P1                 2m13.156s  + 0.853s   8
 7. Nico Muller             Draco              2m13.195s  + 0.892s   9
 8. Andre Negrao            Draco              2m13.235s  + 0.932s   9
 9. Antonio F. da Costa     Arden Caterham     2m13.683s  + 1.380s   9
10. Matias Laine            P1                 2m14.315s  + 2.012s   7
11. Mikhail Aleshin         Tech 1             2m14.677s  + 2.374s   8
12. Christopher Zanella     ISR                2m15.195s  + 2.892s   8
13. Marco Sorensen          Lotus              2m15.244s  + 2.941s   8
14. Nigel Melker            Tech 1             2m16.053s  + 3.750s   7
15. Pietro Fantin           Arden Caterham     2m16.617s  + 4.314s   9
16. Daniil Move             Comtec             2m16.961s  + 4.658s   8
17. Matheo Tuscher          Zeta Corse         2m17.226s  + 4.923s   8
18. Yann Cunha              AV Formula         2m17.877s  + 5.574s   9
19. Oliver Webb             Fortec             2m18.056s  + 5.753s   9
20. Mihai Marinescu         Zeta Corse         2m18.715s  + 6.412s   8
21. N.Martsenko             Pons               2m19.761s    7.458s   7
22. M.Stockinger            Lotus              no time               7
23. Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin             no time               7
24. Lucas Foresti           Comtec             no time               7
25. Kevin Magnussen         DAMS               no time               7
26. Zoel Amberg             Pons               no time               7
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Renault unsure about engine problems
Huertas triumphs in wet second race
Sunday qualifying and race shortened
Magnussen dominates race one
Da Costa sent to the back of grid
Magnussen secures Aragon FR3.5 pole
Magnussen tops Aragon FR3.5 tests