Find out more about our subscriptions

Brands Hatch BTCC: Jason Plato doubles up in race two

Jason Plato BTCC 2013 Brands HatchJason Plato made it two wins from two in the second British Touring Car Championship race of 2013 at Brands Hatch.

Poleman Plato's MG6 held off another fast getaway from Rob Austin's Audi before pulling clear.

Andrew Jordan's Eurotech Honda Civic soon found a way by the Audi, but by then the gap to the leader was over three seconds and Jordan made no inroads into the deficit.

That situation lasted until BTCC newcomers David Nye and Warren Scott clashed at Druids late on, leaving Nye's Welch Motorsport Ford Focus stranded and bringing out the safety car.

The race got back under way for just two laps and Plato made a good restart to secure his 76th BTCC victory.

Jordan also had his hands full in the late stages with the works Honda of Gordon Shedden.

After a torrid race one, the reigning champion stormed through the field in the second encounter. Having climbed up the field from row 10, he jumped from fifth to third when Frank Wrathall's Dynojet Toyota and Austin clashed at Druids, but couldn't quite make a move on Jordan.

Jordan's team-mate Jeff Smith held off a hard-charging Matt Neal to secure fourth, as the four Civics finished in the top five.

Neal had lost ground when he clipped Wrathall after the restart, but managed to repass the soft tyre-shod MG of Sam Tordoff on the final tour to secure fifth.

Frank Wrathall BTCC 2013 Brands HatchWrathall had also been involved in a clash earlier in the race. A misjudged move on the run to Paddock resulted in Wrathall pushing Colin Turkington's WSR BMW into the gravel as they fought for fifth.

Turkington managed to survive and eventually fought back to come home ninth.

With Lea Wood failing to start due to a driveshaft failure, James Kaye led the S2000 class for much of the distance.

The AmD driver was under constant pressure from Liam Griffin's Motorbase Ford Focus, however, and Griffin made it by after the restart to secure Jack Sears Trophy honours.

Update: Shedden excluded, loses podium

Race 2 - 27 laps:

Pos  Driver            Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Jason Plato       MG                       24m16.488s
 2.  Andrew Jordan     Eurotech Honda             + 0.989s
 3.  Gordon Shedden    Honda                      + 1.344s
 4.  Jeff Smith        Eurotech Honda             + 4.958s
 5.  Matt Neal         Honda                      + 5.073s
 6.  Sam Tordoff       MG                         + 5.454s
 7.  Adam Morgan       Ciceley Toyota             + 5.874s
 8.  Mat Jackson       Motorbase Ford             + 6.640s
 9.  Colin Turkington  WSR BMW                    + 7.086s
10.  Dave Newsham      Speedworks Toyota          + 7.295s
11.  Nick Foster       WSR BMW                    + 7.635s
12.  Liam Griffin      Motorbase Ford*           + 10.360s
13.  James Kaye        AmD VW*                   + 11.461s
14.  James Cole        Hard Vauxhall             + 12.776s
15.  Daniel Welch      Welch Proton              + 13.765s
16.  Warren Scott      BMR SEAT*                   + 1 lap


     Frank Wrathall    Dynojet Toyota              25 laps
     David Nye         Welch Ford*                 18 laps
     Tom Onslow-Cole   Hard VW                     15 laps
     Rob Austin        Austin Audi                  9 laps
     Rob Collard       WSR BMW                      5 laps
     Ollie Jackson     Speedworks Toyota            2 laps
     Aron Smith        Motorbase Ford                1 lap
     Jack Goff         Hard Vauxhall                0 laps
     Will Bratt        Austin Audi                  0 laps
     Lea Wood          Wood Vauxhall*               0 laps

* S2000

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Wood loses S2000 class victory
Neal wins ahead of charging Shedden
Shedden excluded, loses podium
Plato survives last-corner clash to win
Jordan on pole as snow hits qualifying
Jordan sets early Brands Hatch pace