Find out more about our subscriptions

Dakar Rally: Stephane Peterhansel seals 11th win in X-raid Mini

Peterhansel seals another Dakar winStephane Peterhansel clinched his 11th Dakar Rally victory with a calm run to the finish in Santiago on Saturday.

The Dakar legend utterly dominated the majority of the 2013 event, establishing his X-raid Mini up front even before the potentially faster Red Bull Buggies of Nasser Al-Attiyah and Carlos Sainz dropped out.

Peterhansel's eventual margin of triumph was 42 minutes over Giniel de Villiers' Toyota.

X-raid filled four of the top five places. Nani Roma fought back from early delays to third before dropping behind Mini stablemate Leonid Novitskiy again when he waited to run as support to Peterhansel on the penultimate day.

Orlando Terranova brought one of X-raid's older BMWs home fifth, finishing a close second to the charging Roma on Saturday's concluding stage.

Various problems for Guerlain Chichert's rapid SMG Buggy meant that he only finished eighth behind Carlos Sousa's Great Wall and fellow SMG man Ronan Chabot.

That was still better off than Robby Gordon. The American's Hummer flew in the final stages as he recovered from the early disasters that had left him six hours behind in 43rd place just four days in.

Leading stage 14 times:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time/Gap
 1.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini       1h44m10s
 2.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid BMW           + 13s
 3.  Lucio Alvarez         Overdrive Toyota     + 31s
 4.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota    + 1m27s
 5.  Guerlain Chicherit    SMG Buggy          + 2m05s
 6.  Robby Gordon          Gordon Hummer      + 2m17s
 7.  Leonid Novitskiy      X-raid Mini        + 2m34s
 8.  Carlos Sousa          Great Wall         + 3m19s
 9.  Geoff Olholm          Overdrive Toyota   + 3m22s
10.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        + 3m43s

Leading finishers after stage 14:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        38h32m39s
 2.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota     + 42m22s
 3.  Leonid Novitskiy      X-raid Mini       + 1h28m22s
 4.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini       + 1h36m43s
 5.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid BMW        + 1h49m10s
 6.  Carlos Sousa          Great Wall        + 2h38m16s
 7.  Ronan Chabot          SMG Buggy         + 3h18m05s
 8.  Guerlain Chicherit    SMG Buggy         + 3h27m44s
 9.  Pascal Thomasse       MD Buggy          + 4h35m32s
10.  Boris Garafulic       X-raid Mini       + 4h45m48s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Peterhansel: Faultless run a dream
Peterhansel hails 'incredible' win
Peterhansel on brink of Dakar win
Roma quickest, Peterhansel still leads
Gordon wins shortened Dakar stage
Terranova flies as Peterhansel cruises
Peterhansel keeps Dakar advantage
Peterhansel set to lead amid chaos
Peterhansel fastest and pulls away
Rider dies in Dakar traffic crash
Al-Attiyah wins, Peterhansel leads
Peterhansel pulls clear on Dakar
Al-Attiyah closes on Peterhansel
Sainz demoted by Dakar officials
Peterhansel takes Dakar lead
Sainz given Dakar lead back
Peterhansel moves into Dakar lead
Sainz quickest on first Dakar stage