Find out more about our subscriptions

Dakar: Stephane Peterhansel nears win as Robby Gordon sets pace

Stephane Peterhansel, X-raid Mini, Dakar 2013Stephane Peterhansel is on the verge of an 11th Dakar Rally victory after driving cautiously through the event's penultimate stage on Friday.

The X-raid Mini driver was only ninth quickest on the run from Copiapo to La Serene, almost 14 minutes off the pace.

But his advantage in the second half of the rally has been so great that even with that time loss Peterhansel still holds a 44-minute cushion going into Saturday's closing 128 kilometre stage to Santiago.

The fight for stage 13 honours was a close one. Robby Gordon looked to be in control until a surge from Guerlain Chicherit, and ultimately the Hummer driver pipped his SMG Buggy rival by just 22 seconds.

Gordon's second stage win in three days brings him up to 14th in the outright standings.

The major change to the leaderboard was for third place. One day after his fastest time on stage 12 brought him past X-raid team-mate Leonid Novitskiy, Nani Roma sacrificed the position to assist team leader Peterhansel.

Roma stopped and waited for the rally leader early on the stage to run with him so Peterhansel had assistance in the event of any drama.

With 11 minutes between him and Roma now, Novitskiy looks set to secure his first Dakar podium.

AUTOSPORT Dakar blogs:

Race2Recovery: A different kind of battle
AUTOSPORT's Sam Tremayne with X-raid

Leading stage 13 results:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time/Gap
 1.  Robby Gordon          Gordon Hummer     3h40m53s
 2.  Guerlain Chicherit    SMG Buggy            + 22s
 3.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid BMW         + 4m41s
 4.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota    + 8m08s
 5.  Leonid Novitskiy      X-raid Mini        + 8m35s
 6.  Lucio Alvarez         Overdrive Toyota  + 11m01s
 7.  Carlos Sousa          Great Wall        + 12m45s
 8.  Ronan Chabot          SMG Buggy         + 13m05s
 9.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini       + 13m51s
10.  Yong Zhou             Great Wall        + 20m19s

Leading positions after stage 13:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        36h44m46s
 2.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota     + 44m38s
 3.  Leonid Novitskiy      X-raid Mini       + 1h29m31s
 4.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini       + 1h40m26s
 5.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid BMW        + 1h52m40s
 6.  Carlos Sousa          Great Wall        + 2h38m40s
 7.  Ronan Chabot          SMG Buggy         + 3h02m25s
 8.  Guerlain Chicherit    SMG Buggy         + 3h29m22s
 9.  Pascal Thomasse       MD Buggy          + 4h31m49s
10.  Boris Garafulic       X-raid Mini       + 4h45m58s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peterhansel: Faultless run a dream
Peterhansel hails 'incredible' win
Peterhansel seals another Dakar win
Roma quickest, Peterhansel still leads
Gordon wins shortened Dakar stage
Terranova flies as Peterhansel cruises
Peterhansel keeps Dakar advantage
Peterhansel set to lead amid chaos
Peterhansel fastest and pulls away
Rider dies in Dakar traffic crash
Al-Attiyah wins, Peterhansel leads
Peterhansel pulls clear on Dakar
Al-Attiyah closes on Peterhansel
Sainz demoted by Dakar officials
Peterhansel takes Dakar lead
Sainz given Dakar lead back
Peterhansel moves into Dakar lead
Sainz quickest on first Dakar stage