Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

AUTOSPORT Awards: Citroen DS3 WRC wins Rally Car of the Year

Yves Matton, AUTOSPORT Awards 2012Citroen's DS3 WRC has been named Rally Car of the Year at the AUTOSPORT Awards in London.

The French machine, which carried Sebastien Loeb to a record ninth straight World Rally Championship title this year, dismissed WRC rivals Ford and Mini to win the award.

It is the fourth time in the last five years that a Citroen creation has won the prize; the only exception coming last year when the Mini WRC scooped the award.

Citroen World Rally Team manager Yves Matton accepted the award from eight-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Tom Kristensen.

"For sure it has been a great era with a great driver, but we also have a great team," Matton said.

"It will be pretty different [without Loeb] but he will be there next year and he will still help us I hope."

Click here for AUTOSPORT's 2012 World Rally Championship season review

Asked whether Robert Kubica could have a future at the team following impressive outings in the Rally di Como and Rallye du Var, Matton added: "Kubica for sure showed he is able to do a great job, we will have discussions..."

Sebastien Loeb, Citroen, Finland 2012Though Citroen's affiliation with rallying stretches back far further, its current stint in the WRC on a factory basis began in 1998 using the Formula 2 class Xsara kit car on asphalt events.

The policy continued in 1999, with Philippe Bugalski earning Citroen victories in Catalunya and Corsica. The team then introduced the Xsara T4 WRC in selected events in 2001 - the same year in which Loeb made his debut in a WRC car, finishing second.

Citroen's first full season came in 2003, and it brought instant success as it won the manufacturers' championship and Loeb finished runner-up to Petter Solberg.

The Frenchman would go one better in 2004, storming to his first drivers' title. Citroen once again won the manufacturers' crown, laying down the foundation for nine years of unparalleled success.

This year Citroen signed Mikko Hirvonen to partner Loeb. Loeb was not to be denied, cruising to a record ninth straight title and winning nine times along the way. With Hirvonen finishing runner-up, Citroen also locked out the manufacturers' championship in emphatic fashion.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT