Find out more about our subscriptions

Red Bull faces $3.26m entry fee payout for 2013 F1 season

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Interlagos 2012Red Bull faces a $3.26 million payout on Friday as the deadline for entry fees for next year's Formula 1 world championship closes.

As part of the move to increase the FIA's revenue from Formula 1, teams have faced a dramatic increase in entry fees for the 2013 season.

The new structure replaces the flat 309,000 Euros fee with a sliding scale. Each team must now make a basic $500,000 payment, with the constructors' champions then paying $6000 per point scored and every other team paying an extra $5000 per point.

Although the rise in fees caused some controversy when it was introduced, FIA president Jean Todt told AUTOSPORT earlier this month that he believed the new system was much fairer.

"The smallest teams will pay less, as they will pay $500,000 - $800,000. So that is about six teams out of 12," he said. "The biggest teams with the biggest revenues will pay more.

"I feel in any democratic country you are paying your taxes depending on your income. So it will generate about 30 per cent more from this side."

F1 teams have already lodged their entries for next year, and made the $500,000 initial payment, but must now pay the full amount by the end of Friday.

The deadline will also likely make the fate of HRT clearer, with the outfit having already been given dispensation to delay its $500,000 when it lodged its original 2013 entry.

The full scale of fees for the 12 F1 teams is:

 1. Red Bull Racing   460 points     $3.26 million
 2. Ferrari           400 points     $2.5 million
 3. McLaren           378 points     $2.39 million
 4. Lotus             303 points     $2.015 million
 5. Mercedes          142 points     $1.21 million
 6. Sauber            126 points     $1.13 million
 7. Force India       109 points     $1.045 million
 8. Williams          76 points      $0.88 million
 9. Toro Rosso        26 points      $0.63 million
10. Caterham          0 points       $0.5 million
11. Marussia          0 points       $0.5 million
12. HRT               0 points       $0.5 million
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Paddock insight from group F1 editor Jonathan Noble
Grand Prix news updates from F1 editor Edd Straw
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Red Bull accepts entry fee hike
Teams hit with dramatic entry fee hike