Find out more about our subscriptions

Knockhill BTCC: Rob Collard doubles up with race two win

Rob Collard wins at KnockhillRob Collard took his second British Touring Car victory of the Knockhill weekend in race two.

Despite running 45kg of success ballast for winning the first encounter, Collard led throughout, gradually edging away from WSR BMW team-mate Tom Onslow-Cole.

Local ace Gordon Shedden also ran third for the whole race in his works Honda Civic, but could not challenge the BMWs.

He was nevertheless well clear of Paul O'Neill. The Speedworks Toyota driver worked his way past Mat Jackson's Motorbase NGTC Ford Focus before barging Aron Smith's S2000 Focus out of the way at the hairpin.

As Jackson struggled, apparently with exhaust fumes in the cockpit that eventually led to his retirement, Smith looked set for fifth.

That was until the closing stages, when tyre wear issues for the Focus helped Nick Foster to make it three WSR BMWs in the top five.

Smith held on for sixth, just ahead of Andrew Jordan (Eurotech), who had forced his way by fellow Honda driver Matt Neal at Clark's with just over two laps to go.

Having started near the back, Jason Plato reached as high as 10th before problems slowed his MG6's pace and he eventually finished 11th.

Results - 27 laps:

Pos  Driver           Team/Car             Time/Gap
 1.  Rob Collard      WSR BMW            25m47.177s 
 2.  Tom Onslow-Cole  WSR BMW              + 3.239s
 3.  Gordon Shedden   Honda               + 11.127s
 4.  Paul O'Neill     Speedworks Toyota   + 15.871s
 5.  Nick Foster      WSR BMW             + 17.545s
 6.  Aron Smith       Motorbase Ford      + 21.783s
 7.  Andrew Jordan    Eurotech Honda      + 22.003s
 8.  Matt Neal        Honda               + 24.775s
 9.  Jeff Smith       Eurotech Honda      + 27.072s
10.  Dave Newsham     ES Vauxhall         + 40.372s
11.  Jason Plato      MG                  + 45.979s
12.  Andy Neate       MG                  + 52.310s
13.  Lea Wood         Wood Vauxhall       + 54.804s
14.  Robb Holland     Gilham Honda          + 1 lap


     Mat Jackson      Motorbase Ford        23 laps
     Adam Morgan      Speedworks Toyota     15 laps
     Daniel Welch     Welch Proton           0 laps
     Chris James      ES Vauxhall            0 laps
     Frank Wrathall   Dynojet Toyota         0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Bartrum wants Plato banned
Smith defends role in Plato clash
Newsham wins Knockhill finale
Plato furious with Smith after clash
Collard prevails in dramatic opener
Plato claims wet Knockhill pole
Collard sets Knockhill practice pace