Find out more about our subscriptions

Maverick Vinales escapes to Catalunya Moto3 win

Maverick Vinales wins at CatalunyaMaverick Vinales captured his second Moto3 victory of the season with a superb breakaway ride at Catalunya, cutting Sandro Cortese's championship lead to just seven points.

The Avintia FTR-Honda rider led a string of seven riders all fighting for first for the opening half of the race, with only 1.2 seconds covering the group at the halfway mark.

As those behind him began to squabble for position however Vinales made his break, edging a gap of four tenths of a second 12 laps from the end.

It proved perfectly timed, as the sight of the Spaniard escaping sparked the chasing pack to push even harder - and stumble over each other even more.

Second place changed hands almost corner by corner, exaggerating Vinales' gains. Within one lap he was two seconds clear; within two, his lead was suddenly over four. It increased for the remainder of the race, allowing Vinales to stand atop his bike as he claimed the flag.

Cortese (Ajo KTM) could not quite match the magnitude of Vinales' breakaway, but he was able to crucially pull clear of the runner-up fight on the final lap, allowing him to claim second and preserve his championship lead.

His podium was all the more remarkable considering his heavy fall in third practice, for which he was still receiving treatment in the build up to the race.

Miguel Oliveira (Monlau Honda) got the better of Louis Rossi (Germany FTR-Honda), Alexis Masbou (Caretta Honda), wildcard Alex Marquez (Galicia Suter-Honda), Hector Faubel (Aspar Kalex-KTM ) and Zulfahmi Khairuddin (Ajo KTM) to seal third.

The seven-strong group had swapped positions throughout the race, continuing until the very final corner when Oliveira edged inside Masbou and then beat Rossi to the line in a photo finish.

Results - 22 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike                   Time/Gap
 1.  Maverick Vinales     Avintia FTR-Honda         41m50.965s
 2.  Sandro Cortese       Ajo KTM                     + 7.752s
 3.  Miguel Oliveira      Monlau Suter-Honda          + 7.853s
 4.  Louis Rossi          Germany FTR-Honda           + 8.007s
 5.  Alexis Masbou        Caretta Honda               + 8.075s
 6.  Alex Marquez         Monlau Suter-Honda          + 8.267s
 7.  Hector Faubel        Aspar Kalex-KTM             + 8.355s
 8.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo KTM                     + 8.480s
 9.  Romano Fenati        Italia FMI FTR-Honda        + 8.600s
10.  Luis Salom           RW Kalex-KTM               + 16.023s
11.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta FTR-Honda          + 16.127s
12.  Niccolo Antonelli    Gresini FTR-Honda          + 16.222s
13.  Alan Techer          Technomag-CIP TSR-Honda    + 16.792s
14.  Alberto Moncayo      Aspar Kalex-KTM            + 30.132s
15.  Jack Miller          Caretta Honda              + 30.132s
16.  Jasper Iwema         FGR Honda                  + 30.304s
17.  Adrian Martin        Laglisse FTR-Honda         + 30.663s
18.  Ivan Moreno          Laglisse FTR-Honda         + 30.970s
19.  John McPhee          KRP-Honda                  + 31.042s
20.  Danny Kent           Ajo KTM                    + 43.738s
21.  Niklas Ajo           TT Motion KTM              + 43.765s
22.  Arthur Sissis        Ajo KTM                    + 44.119s
23.  Simone Grotzkyj      Ambrogio Suter-Honda     + 1m02.007s
24.  Isaac Vinales        Ongetta FTR-Honda        + 1m11.320s
25.  Kenta Fujii          Technomag-CIP TSR-Honda  + 1m19.060s
26.  Luigi Morciano       Ioda Italia              + 1m19.314s
27.  Giulian Pedone       Ambrogio Suter-Honda     + 1m19.331s


     Alessandro Tonucci   Italia FMI FTR-Honda         21 laps
     Danny Webb           Mahindra                     16 laps
     Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra                     16 laps
     Alex Rins            Monlau Suter-Honda           15 laps
     Efren Vazquez        Laglisse FTR-Honda           15 laps
     Brad Binder          RW Kalex-KTM                  6 laps
     Jonas Folger         Ioda                          4 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Vinales storms to Catalunya pole