Find out more about our subscriptions

Jenson Button goes fastest in rain-hit second practice for the Monaco Grand Prix

Jenson Button, McLarenJenson Button was quickest in Thursday afternoon practice for the Monaco Grand Prix, as all the leading positions were set in 15 minutes of early dry running before showers intervened.

All the teams were expecting rain to feature in practice two, which meant a rush of early runs prior to the first precipitation arriving a quarter of an hour in.

By that time, Button's McLaren was on top with a lap in 1m15.746s, 0.392 seconds clear of second-placed Romain Grosjean's Lotus.

The Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso were next up, with Barcelona winner Pastor Maldonado completing the top five for Williams.

Championship leader Sebastian Vettel's Red Bull was back in 10th.

The rain did briefly ease around the half-hour mark, encouraging a few drivers to come back out on slicks, but conditions were far from good enough for quick times, and a second shower came soon after. Although the track dried out again towards the end, even with nearly the full field on the circuit at times, a truly dry line never emerged.

Despite the slippery conditions, everyone managed to avoid the barriers. There were plenty of trips down escape roads, with everyone managing to continue except Heikki Kovalainen, who could not get his Caterham's reverse gear to cooperate after sliding off at Mirabeau.

Pos Driver                Team                  Time               Laps
 1. Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes      1m15.746s            14
 2. Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault         1m16.138s  + 0.392   17
 3. Felipe Massa          Ferrari               1m16.602s  + 0.856   19
 4. Fernando Alonso       Ferrari               1m16.661s  + 0.915   21
 5. Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault      1m16.820s  + 1.074   18
 6. Nico Rosberg          Mercedes              1m17.021s  + 1.275   13
 7. Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault      1m17.148s  + 1.402   21
 8. Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari        1m17.153s  + 1.407   20
 9. Michael Schumacher    Mercedes              1m17.293s  + 1.547    9
10. Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault      1m17.303s  + 1.557   19
11. Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes      1m17.375s  + 1.629   17
12. Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes  1m17.395s  + 1.649   19
13. Bruno Senna           Williams-Renault      1m17.655s  + 1.909   18
14. Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes  1m17.800s  + 2.054   23
15. Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari        1m18.251s  + 2.505   22
16. Vitaly Petrov         Caterham-Renault      1m18.440s  + 2.694   23
17. Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m18.522s  + 2.776   20
18. Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m18.808s  + 3.062   24
19. Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault         1m19.267s  + 3.521   23
20. Timo Glock            Marussia-Cosworth     1m19.309s  + 3.563   27
21. Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham-Renault      1m20.029s  + 4.283   13
22. Charles Pic           Marussia-Cosworth     1m20.240s  + 4.494   19
23. Pedro de la Rosa      HRT-Cosworth          1m20.631s  + 4.885   12
24. Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth          1m20.886s  + 5.140   10

All Timing Unofficial
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Paddock insight from group F1 editor Jonathan Noble
Grand Prix news updates from F1 editor Edd Straw
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Schumacher quickest, Webber on pole
Rosberg tops final Monaco practice
Alonso tops first Monaco GP practice