Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Craig Lowndes beats Ford Performance Racing cars to pole for Phillip Island V8 Supercars race two

Craig Lowndes, Triple Eight, Phillip IslandCraig Lowndes beat the Ford Performance Racing cars to pole position for the second race of V8 Supercars' Phillip Island event.

A 1m32.3167s lap at the end of the session from the Triple Eight Holden driver gave Lowndes the top spot and meant David Reynolds (Rod Nash/FPR) missed out on his maiden V8 pole for a second day in a row, having been edged out by team-mate Mark Winterbottom on Saturday.

Race one winner Winterbottom qualified fourth for Sunday's event, alongside fellow FPR man Will Davison.

Jamie Whincup will start sixth in the second Triple Eight car, sharing row three with Brad Jones Racing's Jason Bright.

Michael Patrizi (Tekno), Shane van Gisbergen (Stone Brothers), Fabian Coulthard (Brad Jones) and Jonathon Webb completed the top 10.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car             Time        Gap
 1.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden      1m32.3167s
 2.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford    1m32.5063s  + 0.1896s
 3.  Will Davison         FPR Ford             1m32.5272s  + 0.2105s
 4.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford             1m32.7070s  + 0.3903s
 5.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden    1m32.7176s  + 0.4009s
 6.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden      1m32.7320s  + 0.4153s
 7.  Michael Patrizi      Tekno Holden         1m32.8478s  + 0.5311s
 8.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford  1m32.9068s  + 0.5901s
 9.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden    1m32.9781s  + 0.6614s
10.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden         1m32.9811s  + 0.6644s
11.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden         1m33.0219s  + 0.7052s
12.  Lee Holdsworth       Stone Brothers Ford  1m33.0496s  + 0.7329s
13.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden           1m33.0586s  + 0.7419s
14.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford    1m33.0782s  + 0.7615s
15.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford   1m33.0789s  + 0.7622s
16.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden         1m33.2734s  + 0.9567s
17.  Steve Owen           Dick Johnson Ford    1m33.3066s  + 0.9899s
18.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden  1m33.4274s  + 1.1107s
19.  Taz Douglas          Dumbrell Holden      1m33.5317s  + 1.2150s
20.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden         1m33.5422s  + 1.2255s
21.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden    1m33.5714s  + 1.2547s
22.  Karl Reindler        Kelly Holden         1m33.6330s  + 1.3163s
23.  James Courtney       HRT Holden           1m33.6599s  + 1.3432s
24.  Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw Holden    1m33.6644s  + 1.3477s
25.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford    1m33.6685s  + 1.3518s
26.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford       1m33.7249s  + 1.4082s
27.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford        1m33.7418s  + 1.4251s
28.  Alexandre Premat     Garry Rogers Holden  1m33.8905s  + 1.5738s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Davison fends off Lowndes for win
Winterbottom wins as rivals collide
Winterbottom takes race one pole