Find out more about our subscriptions

Luiz Razia wins for Arden in GP2 sprint race at Barcelona

Luiz Razia wins at CatalunyaArden International's Luiz Razia scored victory in the GP2 sprint race at Barcelona's Circuit de Catalunya in Spain on Sunday morning.

Razia led from start to finish from pole position, but had runner-up Nathanael Berthon for company for the first 16 laps. The Racing Engineering man shadowed his every move for much of the race before dropping back to finish 5.2 seconds in arrears at the chequered flag for his first podium finish in the category.

Points leader Davide Valsecchi finished third for DAMS, having failed in his bid to pass Berthon around the outside at the first turn, but came under pressure from James Calado (Lotus GP) in the closing stages. Calado had battled past team-mate Esteban Gutierrez and Caterham's Giedo van der Garde on the opening lap with some impressive passes.

Carlin's Max Chilton made a poor start from the front row, and finished fifth after Calado passed him with a tidy move at the hairpin on lap five.

Van der Garde held off Gutierrez for sixth, with Stefano Coletti eighth for Coloni ahead of Felipe Nasr (DAMS).

Fabio Onidi, who started third, went straight on the opening corner and would later spin his Coloni machine and get collected by Ocean's Nigel Melker.

Results - 25 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team                  Time/Gap
 1.  Luiz Razia           Arden               40m08.411s
 2.  Nathanael Berthon    Racing Engineering    + 5.256s
 3.  Davide Valsecchi     DAMS                  + 5.897s
 4.  James Calado         Lotus                 + 6.575s
 5.  Max Chilton          Carlin               + 13.117s
 6.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham             + 14.362s
 7.  Esteban Gutierrez    Lotus                + 14.874s
 8.  Stefano Coletti      Coloni               + 19.223s
 9.  Felipe Nasr          DAMS                 + 19.703s
10.  Fabrizio Crestani    Lazarus              + 21.570s
11.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering   + 22.852s
12.  Tom Dillmann         Rapax                + 23.312s
13.  Johnny Cecotto       Addax                + 30.155s
14.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Caterham             + 30.601s
15.  Rio Haryanto         Carlin               + 31.281s
16.  Josef Kral           Addax                + 31.834s
17.  Julian Leal          Trident              + 32.817s
18.  Fabio Onidi          Coloni               + 34.371s
19.  Stephane Richelmi    Trident              + 34.818s
20.  Simon Trummer        Arden                + 35.426s
21.  Victor Guerin        Ocean                + 38.977s
22.  Marcus Ericsson      iSport               + 39.878s
23.  Ricardo Teixeira     Rapax                + 41.979s
24.  Nigel Melker         Ocean                + 48.441s


     Giancarlo Serenelli  Lazarus                 3 laps
     Jolyon Palmer        iSport                  0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Van der Garde takes Barcelona win
Calado takes Barcelona GP2 pole
Kral fastest in GP2 practice in Spain