Find out more about our subscriptions

Yvan Muller pips Gabriele Tarquini first Hungaroring World Touring Car practice

Yvan MullerRML Chevrolet's World Touring Car Championship points leader Yvan Muller edged out a resurgent Gabriele Tarquini in opening free practice for round five at the Hungaroring.

Frenchman Muller was 0.065 seconds faster than last weekend's Slovakia Ring race-winner Tarquini in the improving Lukoil SEAT Leon.

The 2009 world champion was half a second adrift of Muller for much of the session, but demoted Alain Menu's RML Chevrolet Cruze to third three minutes before the chequered flag.

Fresh from his maiden WTCC pole position at the Slovakia Ring last weekend, local hope Norbert Michelisz also mixed it with the factory Chevrolets.

On his final lap, the Zengo Motorsport BMW man recorded a time in the low 1m56s to edge out the third RML Cruze of Slovakia Ring reversed grid victor Rob Huff.

Tom Coronel's ROAL Motorsport BMW took sixth, 0.021s ahead of Special Tuning SEAT racer Darryl O'Young.

Making its maiden appearance in the championship, the Lada Granta Sport of James Thompson finished a respectable 1.8s off Muller's benchmark pace in 19th.

SUNRED Racing's Andrea Barlesi is absent for the second consecutive weekend with sponsorship difficulties, while Mehdi Bennani is the lone Proteam BMW entrant after the Italian team's second driver Isaac Tutumlu elected to switch to the Porsche Supercup earlier this week.

Pos  Driver                Team/Car               Time        Gap
 1.  Yvan Muller           Chevrolet              1m55.594s
 2.  Gabriele Tarquini     Lukoil SEAT            1m55.659s   + 0.065s
 3.  Alain Menu            Chevrolet              1m55.783s   + 0.189s
 4.  Norbert Michelisz     Zengo BMW              1m56.143s   + 0.549s
 5.  Robert Huff           Chevrolet              1m56.286s   + 0.692s
 6.  Tom Coronel           ROAL BMW               1m56.666s   + 1.072s
 7.  Darryl O'Young        Special Tuning SEAT    1m56.687s   + 1.093s
 8.  Pepe Oriola           Tuenti SEAT            1m56.703s   + 1.109s
 9.  Mehdi Bennani         Proteam BMW            1m56.757s   + 1.163s
10.  Franz Engstler        Engstler BMW           1m56.870s   + 1.276s
11.  Tiago Monteiro        Tuenti SEAT            1m57.002s   + 1.408s
12.  Aleksei Dudukalo      Lukoil SEAT            1m57.043s   + 1.449s
13.  Gabor Weber           Zengo BMW              1m57.092s   + 1.498s
14.  Alex MacDowall        bamboo Chevrolet       1m57.137s   + 1.543s
15.  Alberto Cerqui        ROAL BMW               1m57.225s   + 1.631s
16.  Pasquale di Sabatino  bamboo Chevrolet       1m57.244s   + 1.650s
17.  Tom Chilton           Arena Ford             1m57.341s   + 1.747s
18.  Stefano D'Aste        Wiechers BMW           1m57.375s   + 1.781s
19.  James Thompson        Lada Granta Sport      1m57.379s   + 1.785s
20.  James Nash            Arena Ford             1m57.431s   + 1.837s
21.  Charles Ng            Engstler BMW           1m58.305s   + 2.711s
22.  Tom Boardman          Special Tuning SEAT    1m58.396s   + 2.802s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Ecstatic Michelisz takes home victory
Muller leads Chevrolet podium sweep
ROAL BMWs lose qualifying times
Muller leads Chevrolet grid sweep
Last-gasp Tarquini fastest in FP2