Find out more about our subscriptions

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs continues to dominate in second Hungaroring Auto GP practice

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, Super Nova, Auto GPBriton Adrian Quaife-Hobbs repeated his dominant morning performance during second Auto GP free practice session at the Hungaroring on Friday afternoon.

Fastest in opening practice by 1.1 seconds, the Super Nova racer's margin of superiority narrowed to a still mighty 0.9s in the second half-hour session before qualifying.

MP Motorsport's Daniel de Jong set the early pace on 1m36.276, before Auto GP points leader Quaife-Hobbs moved into top spot with his first representative lap-time after eight minutes of running.

Thereafter, Quaife-Hobbs gradually lowered his benchmark, eventually setting his fastest time of 1m34.001s just prior to the midway mark.

Marrakech race one victor Sergio Campana also produced a relatively early effort to emerge as Quaife-Hobbs' closest challenger for newcomer MLR 71.

Formula Renault 3.5 graduate de Jong was bumped down the order from third to seventh in the closing two minutes of action. Virtuosi UK's Pal Varhaug iltimately edged out Victor Guerin's second Super Nova entry by just 0.001s to claim the final top three position.

Euronova Racing's Sergey Sirotkin secured fifth. As in round two at Valencia in April, the Russian teenager has a busy weekend in store. Sirotkin is competing with Euronova in both Auto GP and Italian Formula 3 this season, and is entered in five races this weekend.

Argentinean Facu Regalia, searching for his maiden victory of 2012, rounded out the top six for Campos.

Series returnee Sten Pentus encountered gearbox selection problems with his lone Zele Racing machine. The Estonian sat out the opening half of practice two while repairs were completed, but was able to take to the track to end the afternoon 11th.

Pos  Driver               Team         Time       Gap
 1.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Super Nova   1m34.001s
 2.  Sergio Campana       MLR 71       1m34.907s  + 0.906s
 3.  Pal Varhaug          Virtuosi UK  1m35.113s  + 1.112s
 4.  Victor Guerin        Super Nova   1m35.114s  + 1.113s
 5.  Sergey Sirotkin      Euronova     1m35.206s  + 1.205s
 6.  Facu Regalia         Campos       1m35.505s  + 1.504s
 7.  Daniel de Jong       Manor MP     1m35.513s  + 1.512s
 8.  Adderly Fong         Ombra        1m35.640s  + 1.639s
 9.  Giuseppe Cipriani    Campos       1m36.077s  + 2.076s
10.  Chris van der Drift  Manor MP     1m36.108s  + 2.107s
11.  Sten Pentus          Zele         1m36.284s  + 2.283s
12.  Maxim Snegirev       Campos       1m36.455s  + 2.454s
13.  Antonio Spavone      Euronova     1m36.735s  + 2.734s
14.  Giancarlo Serenelli  Ombra        1m36.867s  + 2.866s
15.  Franceso Dracone     Virtuosi UK  1m37.113s  + 3.112s
16.  Michele la Rosa      MLR 71       1m39.041s  + 5.040s
British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Varhaug beats Quaife-Hobbs to win
Quaife-Hobbs dominates race one
Quaife-Hobbs takes comfortable pole
Quaife-Hobbs leads Hungary practice