Find out more about our subscriptions

Will Power continues IndyCar domination with Sao Paulo

Will Power wins in Sao PauloWill Power took his third IndyCar Series win in succession with his victory in a chaotic race around the streets of Sao Paulo.

The Penske driver started from pole and looked in control for most of the afternoon, although he was forced to survive a number of restarts due to a string of accidents behind him.

The last of these came with just a handful of laps remaining, forcing him to defend against Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti) in the final dash for the flag. The margin of victory was 0.9 seconds.

Dario Franchitti (Ganassi) had been on target for third but struggled to get heat into his tyres for the final restart, allowing Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan) to pass him for his first-ever IndyCar podium finish. Helio Castroneves (Penske) also managed to pass Franchitti, leaving the Scot to finish fifth.

From Franchitti's perspective this was a decent piece of damage limitation, considering that he had been one of several drivers to be caught up in accidents on restarts when he was pitched backwards over the Turn 1 kerbs midway through the race. That dropped him to 20th, but he was able to get himself back towards the front of the field through a combination of a judiciously-timed visit to the pits and some good overtaking moves.

While plenty of drivers ended the race with battle scars, none suffered more than Ganassi's Scott Dixon. The Kiwi was the only driver to pass Power during the race, but he did so knowing that he still needed to stop for a splash of fuel.

He had built up a 3.0s lead when he did so, only to lose positions under a yellow that immediately followed, and then get bottled up behind an accident on the restart. He eventually crossed the line in 17th place.

Results - 75 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                           Time/Gap
 1.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevy             2h08m18.2816s
 2.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevy               + 0.9045s
 3.  Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda                  + 2.3905s
 4.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevy                 + 4.5489s
 5.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda                + 5.1722s
 6.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevy               + 6.2615s
 7.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevy                + 8.3764s
 8.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda                + 8.5905s
 9.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevy                    + 10.3449s
10.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevy                    + 10.8477s
11.  Oriol Servia         Dreyer & Reinbold DW12-Lotus     + 24.4771s
12.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt DW12-Honda                  + 1 lap
13.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevy                       + 1 lap
14.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevy                 + 1 lap
15.  James Jakes          Dale Coyne DW12-Honda               + 1 lap
16.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda                  + 1 lap
17.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda                  + 1 lap
18.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon DW12-Lotus                   + 1 lap
19.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda                    + 2 laps
20.  Ana Beatriz          Andretti DW12-Chevy                + 2 laps
21.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevy               + 3 laps


     Justin Wilson        Dale Coyne DW12-Honda               66 laps
     Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda                   61 laps
     Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus                      28 laps
     Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevy                   21 laps
     Katherine Legge      Dragon DW12-Lotus                   20 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay leads wet warm-up
Wilson put to back of IndyCar grid
Sato given engine penalty
Power claims Sao Paulo pole
Franchitti heads Power in practice two
Power pips Franchitti in first practice