Find out more about our subscriptions

Ryan Hunter-Reay leads wet IndyCar warm-up in Sao Paulo

Ryan Hunter-ReayRyan Hunter-Reay topped a wet warm-up session ahead of Sunday's IndyCar race on the Sao Paulo street circuit.

A combination of the weather and a proliferation of red flags made it difficult for drivers to do any meaningful running, but Andretti's Hunter-Reay capitalised on the slightly improved conditions toward the end of the session to post a lap of 1m36.3690s.

KV Racing's EJ Viso was second-quickest with a time 0.6 seconds slower than Hunter-Reay's, with polesitter Will Power (Penske) third ahead of Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing). Rubens Barrichello (KV Racing) and Mike Conway (AJ Foyt Racing) rounded out the top six.

The morning was littered with trips into escape roads and minor spins, although the only incident of any real consequence occurred when Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan) ran into Tony Kanaan (KV Racing), earning himself a drive-through penalty. The clash completed an eventful morning for Kanaan, who had earlier run up the escape road at Turn 11.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                      Time        Gap
 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevy           1m36.0166s
 2.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevy                 1m36.9978s  + 0.9812s
 3.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevy             1m37.3034s  + 1.2868s
 4.  Justin Wilson        Dale Coyne DW12-Honda         1m37.3878s  + 1.3712s
 5.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevy                 1m37.4397s  + 1.4231s
 6.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda               1m37.4434s  + 1.4268s
 7.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevy           1m37.4996s  + 1.4830s
 8.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevy             1m37.5037s  + 1.4871s
 9.  James Jakes          Dale Coyne DW12-Honda         1m37.8588s  + 1.8422s
10.  Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda              1m37.9436s  + 1.9270s
11.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevy             1m37.9561s  + 1.9395s
12.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda            1m37.9947s  + 1.9781s
13.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevy            1m38.1349s  + 2.1183s
14.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda            1m38.1644s  + 2.1478s
15.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus                1m38.2589s  + 2.2423s
16.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevy           1m38.4268s  + 2.4102s
17.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda            1m38.4818s  + 2.4652s
18.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda            1m38.6086s  + 2.5920s
19.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon DW12-Lotus             1m39.0190s  + 3.0024s
20.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt DW12-Honda            1m39.0997s  + 3.0831s
21.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda             1m39.4682s  + 3.4516s
22.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevy                 1m40.5161s  + 4.4995s
23.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevy          1m41.0073s  + 4.9907s
24.  Ana Beatriz          Andretti DW12-Chevy           1m41.7506s  + 5.7340s
25.  Oriol Servia         Dreyer & Reinbold DW12-Lotus  1m41.7599s  + 5.7433s
26.  Katherine Legge      Dragon DW12-Lotus             1m49.1418s  + 13.1252s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Power stretches winning streak
Wilson put to back of IndyCar grid
Sato given engine penalty
Power claims Sao Paulo pole
Franchitti heads Power in practice two
Power pips Franchitti in first practice