Find out more about our subscriptions

Will Power tops second IndyCar practice at St Petersburg for Team Penske

Will Power Penske IndyCar St Petersburg 2012

Will Power only completed a handful of laps in Friday's second IndyCar practice session at St Petersburg, but they were enough for the Australian driver to head a Penske one-two.

Power set his quickest time of 1m02.0077s on just his third lap and then sat out much of the rest of the session, returning to the circuit for the final minutes of running following a late red flag.

His team-mate Ryan Briscoe was second fastest, missing Power's time by just 0.08s. while reigning champion Dario Franchitti locked down the third-quickest lap to put himself just ahead of his Ganassi stablemates Graham Rahal and Scott Dixon.

Penske's Helio Castroneves was sixth, with James Hinchcliffe (Andretti), Tony Kanaan (KV), Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti) and Mike Conway (Foyt) rounding out the top 10.

It was a tough afternoon once again for series newcomer Rubens Barrichello, whose efforts were hampered by a still-to-be identified mechanical problem on his KV Racing car. The Brazilian finished the afternoon down in 23rd place, with a best lap 1.3s slower than Power's.

Simona de Silvestro narrowed the gap between Lotus and the Honda and Chevrolet-powered frontrunners, posting a time that was 16th quickest, and 0.9s off the leaders, in the HVM Racing entry.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car/Engine            Time        Gap
 1.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevrolet      1m02.0077s
 2.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevrolet      1m02.0931s  + 0.0845s
 3.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda         1m02.2232s  + 0.2155s
 4.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda         1m02.2924s  + 0.8116s
 5.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda         1m02.3117s  + 0.3040s
 6.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevrolet      1m02.3190s  + 0.3113s
 7.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevrolet    1m02.4362s  + 0.4555s
 8.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevrolet          1m02.4814s  + 0.4737s
 9.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevrolet    1m02.5301s  + 0.5224s
10.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda            1m02.5337s  + 0.5260s
11.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevrolet    1m02.5624s  + 0.5547s
12.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt DW12-Honda         1m02.5997s  + 0.5920s
13.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevrolet     1m02.7683s  + 0.7606s
14.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda          1m02.7838s  + 0.7761s
15.  Justin Wilson        Coyne DW12-Honda           1m02.8915s  + 0.8838s
16.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus             1m02.9136s  + 0.9059s
17.  James Jakes          Coyne DW12-Honda           1m02.9152s  + 0.9075s
18.  Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda           1m02.9594s  + 0.9517s
19.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon DW12-Lotus          1m02.9778s  + 0.9701s
20.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevrolet          1m02.9857s  + 0.9780s
21.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda         1m03.0904s  + 1.0827s
22.  Alex Tagliani        BHA DW12-Lotus             1m03.1812s  + 1.1735s
23.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevrolet          1m03.3290s  + 1.3213s
24.  Oriol Servia         Dreyer Reinbold DW12-Lotus 1m03.3535s  + 1.3458s
25.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevrolet   1m04.6031s  + 2.5954s
26.  Katherine Legge      Dragon DW12-Lotus          1m04.7592s  + 2.7515s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Fisher thrilled with Newgarden
Barrichello content with debut
Dixon admits Castroneves too quick
Castroneves: Win a vital boost
Castroneves ends victory drought
Conway heads damp warm-up
Power leads all-Penske front row
Pagenaud tops times in final practice
Pagenaud given grid penalty
Barrichello hopes for improvements
Dixon heads St Petersburg practice