Find out more about our subscriptions

Davide Valsecchi leads first GP2 test day for DAMS

Davide Valsecchi, DAMS, Jerez testingFormer GP2 Asia champion Davide Valsecchi topped the opening GP2 test of the year at Jerez today.

Over the winter the Italian moved from the former AirAsia (now Caterham) squad to the DAMS team that took Romain Grosjean to the 2011 crown. Valsecchi set a 1m26.014s lap in the morning session, which stood as the best of the day.

GP2 newcomer Fabio Onidi made a strong start for Coloni with second place, 0.2 seconds down on Valsecci, and ahead of iSport duo Jolyon Palmer and Marcus Ericsson, and Lotus team-mates Esteban Gutierrez and James Calado.

Ericsson led the Lotus duo in the slower afternoon session, with Fabio Leimer (Racing Engineering) and Stephane Richelmi (Trident) completing the top five. Valsecchi was seventh.

The new Lazarus team got up to 14th with signed driver Fabrizio Crestani in the afternoon. Vittorio Ghirelli was driving its other car today and caused a brief red flag when he stopped on track in the second session. Tom Dillmann prompted a stoppage in the morning when he crashed his Ocean machine.

Morning session:

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Davide Valsecchi     DAMS                1m26.014s
 2.  Fabio Onidi          Coloni              1m26.217s  + 0.203s
 3.  Jolyon Palmer        iSport              1m26.219s  + 0.205s
 4.  Marcus Ericsson      iSport              1m26.266s  + 0.252s
 5.  Esteban Gutierrez    Lotus               1m26.408s  + 0.394s
 6.  James Calado         Lotus               1m26.649s  + 0.635s
 7.  Stéphane Richelmi    Trident             1m26.888s  + 0.874s
 8.  Stefano Coletti      Coletti             1m26.891s  + 0.877s
 9.  Dani Clos            Rapax               1m26.944s  + 0.930s
10.  Nigel Melker         Ocean               1m26.944s  + 0.930s
11.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Caterham            1m26.971s  + 0.957s
12.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham            1m26.990s  + 0.976s
13.  Johnny Cecotto       Addax               1m27.013s  + 0.999s
14.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering  1m27.124s  + 1.110s
15.  Max Chilton          Carlin              1m27.187s  + 1.173s
16.  Simon Trummer        Arden               1m27.408s  + 1.394s
17.  Luiz Razia           Arden               1m27.437s  + 1.423s
18.  Josef Kral           Addax               1m27.519s  + 1.505s
19.  Rio Haryanto         Carlin              1m27.842s  + 1.828s
20.  Nathanael Berthon    Racing Engineering  1m27.917s  + 1.903s
21.  Julian Leal          Trident             1m28.018s  + 2.004s
22.  Felipe Nasr          DAMS                1m28.076s  + 2.062s
23.  Fabrizio Crestani    Lazarus             1m28.385s  + 2.371s
24.  Daniel De Jong       Rapax               1m28.438s  + 2.424s
25.  Tom Dillmann         Ocean               1m28.985s  + 2.971s
26.  Vittorio Ghirelli    Lazarus             1m29.642s  + 3.628s

Afternoon session:

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Marcus Ericsson      iSport              1m26.407s
 2.  Esteban Gutierrez    Lotus               1m26.496s  + 0.089s
 3.  James Calado         Lotus               1m26.586s  + 0.179s
 4.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering  1m26.776s  + 0.369s
 5.  Stéphane Richelmi    Trident             1m27.017s  + 0.610s
 6.  Johnny Cecotto       Addax               1m27.138s  + 0.731s
 7.  Davide Valsecchi     DAMS                1m27.179s  + 0.772s
 8.  Nathanael Berthon    Racing Engineering  1m27.205s  + 0.798s
 9.  Josef Kral           Addax               1m27.236s  + 0.829s
10.  Max Chilton          Carlin              1m27.237s  + 0.830s
11.  Nigel Melker         Ocean               1m27.238s  + 0.831s
12.  Dani Clos            Rapax               1m27.243s  + 0.836s
13.  Jolyon Palmer        iSport              1m27.253s  + 0.846s
14.  Fabrizio Crestani    Lazarus             1m27.496s  + 1.089s
15.  Stefano Coletti      Coloni              1m27.543s  + 1.136s
16.  Rio Haryanto         Carlin              1m27.580s  + 1.173s
17.  Julian Leal          Trident             1m27.799s  + 1.392s
18.  Simon Trummer        Arden               1m27.838s  + 1.431s
19.  Luiz Razia           Arden               1m27.867s  + 1.460s
20.  Tom Dillmann         Ocean               1m27.871s  + 1.464s
21.  Daniel de Jong       Rapax               1m27.914s  + 1.507s
22.  Felipe Nasr          DAMS                1m28.096s  + 1.689s
23.  Vittorio Ghirelli    Lazarus             1m29.117s  + 2.710s
24.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham            1m29.472s  + 3.065s
25.  Fabio Onidi          Coloni              1m29.492s  + 3.085s
26.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Caterham            1m31.159s  + 4.752s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Valsecchi ends Jerez test on top
Valsecchi quickest again at Jerez